Jonah Field at War Memorial Stadium

One of the most picturesque football facilities in the nation, Jonah Field at War Memorial Stadium sits between the Rocky Mountains' Snowy Range to the west and the Laramie Range to the east and has been home to Cowboy football since 1950. "The War" is the highest NCAA Division I football stadium in the country at an elevation of 7,220 feet and seats 29,181 fans thanks to extensive renovations and upgrades over the past decade.

The most recent enhancement to War Memorial Stadium was the completion of the Wildcatter Stadium Club and Suites prior to the 2010 season. The Wildcatter offers UW football fans the advantages of indoor, luxury seating with 12 individual suites along with a stadium-club area that contains 256 indoor seats on the upper east side of the stadium. The addition was named after the many successful "Wildcatters" of Wyoming. A Wildcatter is a person who displays the strength and courage to risk drilling oil or gas wells in areas where there is no guarantee that oil or gas will be found. In connection with the Wildcatter, the east side of the stadium was renovated to include improved seating, enhance concession areas and improved and expanded restroom facilities for all fans.

Installation of the beautiful new FieldTurf Revolution playing surface at the University of Wyoming's War Memorial Stadium has been completed. The field's new features include the image of Wyoming's Teton Mountains in the end zones, and on the sidelines is the lettering "7220 Feet" to distinguish Jonah Field as the highest NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) stadium in the country. UW's school colors of brown and gameday gold are prevalent throughout. The traditional words "WYOMING" and "COWBOYS" are boldly displayed in brown on a vivid gameday gold background in opposite end zones. Those words appear in a new western-style font. Another traditional element that was incorporated into the design was Wyoming's iconic "Steamboat" symbol of a bucking horse and rider at midfield in brown, outlined in white and gameday gold. Jonah Field will continue as the name of Wyoming Football's playing surface to commemorate the generous donations to UW Athletics by Mick and Susie McMurry and John and Mari Ann Martin and their families. The two families developed the Jonah Field natural gas field in western Wyoming. Installation of the new surface began on Monday, June 10, 2013, and was completed on Thursday, June 27 -- under three weeks from beginning to end. The cost of the field is $500,000, all of which is being funded from self-generated dollars with no state funds going to pay for the project. Cost savings of nearly $500,000 came from the excellent condition of the base that was already in place from the installation of Wyoming's original artificial turf surface back in the summer of 2005. The FieldTurf Revolution turf system was selected by Wyoming Athletics due to its elite-level playability. FieldTurf has been installed at many of the top NCAA football stadiums in the country for its grass-like performance and safety.

With the crowd noise, elevation and outstanding Cowboy teams, Wyoming's home field has long been one of the most feared places to play in college football. The Cowboys have won 66 percent of their games at War Memorial Stadium. The stadium is no stranger on the national scene, as it has hosted the likes of Nebraska, Texas, Kansas, Ole Miss, Texas A&M and Virginia since 2000. The War opened on Sept. 16, 1950, with a 61-13 win over Montana State, followed by an official dedication the following week on Sept. 23 versus nationally-ranked Baylor. The Cowboys won that game 7-0. Wyoming played its first night game in the stadium on Sept. 1, 1988, against BYU, while playing in front of a sold-out crowd numerous times during the stadium's history.

Some of the great Wyoming coaches to walk the sidelines in War Memorial Stadium include Bowden Wyatt, William H. "Lone Star" Dietz, Phil Dickens, Bob Devaney, Lloyd Eaton, Fritz Shurmur, Fred Akers, Pat Dye, Paul Roach and Joe Tiller. Former Cowboy head coaches Wyatt, Dietz, Devaney and Dye have all since been inducted into the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame.


View Larger Map

Shop Now!