Ethan Wood Named to 2016 Ray Guy Watch List

The Augusta Sports Council announced its 2016 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List on Thursday and Wyoming senior punter Ethan Wood was one of 27 candidates named to this year’s list.  The Ray Guy Award is presented each year to the nation’s best collegiate punter.

It is the second time in Wood’s career that he has been named to the list. He was also a candidate as a junior in 2015.  Wood enters his senior season having started every game of his college career -- 36 consecutive games from the first game of his freshman season.  Last season, he averaged 41.2 yards per punt and helped Wyoming rank No. 5 in the Mountain West and No. 40 nationally in net punting, averaging 38.6 net yards per punt.

The Ray Guy Award committee will announce 10 semifinalists on Nov. 11. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on Nov. 22. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, Dec. 8, 2016.

2016 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List
Ethan Wood (Sr.), Wyoming
Toby Baker (Sr.), Arkansas
Michael Carrizosa (Jr.), San Jose State
Ron Coluzzi (RS Jr.), Central Michigan
Trevor Daniel (RS Jr.), Tennessee
Colin Downing (Jr.), Iowa State
Sam Foltz (Sr.), Nebraska
Will Gleeson (Jr.), Ole Miss
Worth Gregory (Sr.), East Carolina
Matt Haack (Sr.), Arizona State
Hayden Hunt (RS Jr.), Colorado State
Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State
Logan Laurent (RS Jr.), Massachusetts
Jonny Linehan (Sr.), BYU
Joseph Occhipinti (Jr.), Western Kentucky
Dalton Parks (Sr.), Tulsa
Nick Porebski (RS Jr.), Oregon State
Austin Rehkow (Sr.), Idaho
Tyler Sarrazin (Sr.) Southern Miss
Dalton Schomp (RS Sr.), FAU
JK Scott (Jr.), Alabama
Austin Seibert (Soph.), Oklahoma
Johnny Townsend (RS Jr.), Florida
Justin Vogel (Sr.), Miami
Justin Wain (RS Sr.), Connecticut
Nick Walsh (Soph.), Kansas State
Ryan Winslow (RS Jr.), Pittsburgh

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga., native and College and
Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting
average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents’ 20-yard line, total
yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team
leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization that enriches the quality of life and economic wellbeing
for the Augusta metropolitan area by surrounding and attracting sporting events. To learn more visit,