University of Wyoming's Mike Cotterman to be Honored as a Master Strength and Conditioning Coach

May 7, 2014

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The Collegiate Strength and Conditioning Coaches association (CSCCa) has announced that Mike Cotterman, Associate Head Coach for Sports Performance at the University of Wyoming, will be named Master Strength and Conditioning Coach at this year's CSCCa National Conference in Salt Lake City on Thursday, May 8.

The Master Strength and Conditioning Coach honor is the highest presented in the strength and conditioning coaching profession, and the ceremony is the highlight of the association's National Conference each year.

Master Strength and Conditioning Coach Scott Bennett from Radford University and previously the Head Strength and Conditioning Coach at the University of Wyoming will present Cotterman with the blue MSCC Jacket on Thursday evening at the Downtown Salt Lake City Marriott Hotel.

"I would like to extend my appreciation to all the student-athletes that have made my chosen career so rewarding every day," said Cotterman. "I would also like to thank all the Wyoming coaches, particularly Scott Bennett, Trent Greener, Zach Duval, Tom Johnson and Joe Legerski, as they have helped me become a better coach and person."

"This is an incredible honor for Mike (Cotterman)," says CSCCa Executive Director, Dr. Chuck Stiggins. "Being named a Master Strength and Conditioning Coach signifies a commitment to the student-athlete, the University of Wyoming Athletic Program, and the strength and conditioning profession. We are honored to have Coach Cotterman as a member of our association and to have him join the ranks of the Master Strength and Conditioning Coaches. He is truly a model of an outstanding strength and conditioning professional."

Among the criteria for an individual to be recognized as a Master Strength and Conditioning Coach are holding the CSCCa Certification - SCCC (Strength & Conditioning Coach Certified); and having a minimum of 12 years experience as a full-time strength and conditioning coach on the collegiate and/or professional level.

Twenty-three collegiate strength & conditioning coaches will receive the prestigious certification of Master Strength & Conditioning Coach at the 2014 MSCC Ceremony. Those 23 will join the existing 136 Master Strength and Conditioning Coaches to bring the total to 159.

This year's honorees are: Mike Cotterman (University of Wyoming), David Abernethy (Furman University), Christopher Anderson (Oregon State University), Rusty Burney (University of Missouri), Duane Carlisle (Purdue University), Jami Clinton (University of Mississippi), Kathy Crowe-Wagner (University of Texas at Arlington), Jason Dierking (University of Louisville), Glenn Harris (Boston University), Sean Hayes (University of Georgia), Michael Joseph (West Virginia University), Robert Lemieux (Kent State University), Jeremy Charles Melton (Baylor University), Kent Morgan (University of West Florida), Jared Nessland (Sacramento State University), Bradley Ohrt (Northern Illinois University), Robert Phillips (Tulane University), Anthony Rolinski (University of Notre Dame), Craig Sowers (North Carolina State University), Charles Stephenson (University of Utah), Joshua Stoner (University of Missouri), David VanDyke (Stony Brook University), and Aaron Wellman (University of Michigan).