TCU Officially Becomes Ninth MWC Member

July 1, 2005


TCU officially became the ninth member of the Mountain West Conference today. The Horned Frogs cordially accepted an invitation to join the MWC January 30, 2004, beginning with the 2005-06 academic year.

Founded in 1873, TCU has an enrollment of 8,632 and sponsors 19 varsity sports. The Horned Frog football program has a rich 108-year history and enters the 2005 campaign owning the nation's 17th best win percentage (.700) since the start of the 2000 season with a 42-18 record. TCU has captured 16 conference championships the last four years and will compete in all 19 MWC sponsored sports.

Last year, the Horned Frogs sent eight teams into postseason competition, highlighted by the men's basketball team advancing to the quarterfinals of the NIT, the women's basketball team earning a fifth straight NCAA Tournament bid and the baseball team setting a school record with 41 victories on the year.

TCU's addition to the Mountain West renews relationships among the conference's member institutions as the Horned Frogs briefly competed against many current MWC members from 1997-99. It also solidifies the MWC's profile within the state of Texas - where, presently, between 10-13 percent of the football and men's basketball student-athletes in the Conference originate.

"Since its inception six years ago, the MWC has established a solid foundation and experienced significant success in both the competitive and administrative arenas," stated commissioner Craig Thompson. "The addition of TCU enhances an already successful group of member institutions."

"TCU is flattered to have been asked to join the Mountain West," chancellor Victor Boschini said. "We look forward to competing with their members and getting to know the schools in our new league."

The MWC accomplished several historic milestones in its sixth year. During the 2004-05 campaign, the MWC produced three national players of the year (Utah center Andrew Bogut, Utah quarterback Alex Smith and UNLV golfer Ryan Moore), the No. 1 pick in both the NFL and NBA drafts (Smith, Bogut), a Sweet 16 appearance in men's basketball (Utah), five individual national champions in track and field, and most notably, a Tostitos Fiesta Bowl victory (Utah's 35-7 win over Pittsburgh). The Utes were the first team from a non-automatic-qualifying BCS conference to participate in a BCS bowl game, finishing the year 12-0 and ranked fourth in the final Associated Press poll.

The Mountain West Conference began with eight members July 1, 1999 and now moves into its next phase of development with nine members. In 2005-06, MWC membership will include: The United States Air Force Academy, Brigham Young University (BYU), Colorado State University, University of New Mexico, University of Nevada - Las Vegas (UNLV), San Diego State University, Texas Christian University (TCU), University of Utah, University of Wyoming.