Kalms Wins Second MPSF Championship, As School Records Fall For Both Squads

Feb. 23, 2013


MPSF friday_finals_results Get Acrobat Reader

MW fri finals results Get Acrobat Reader

MPSF Live Results | MPSF Live Video

MW Live Results | MW Live Video

University of Wyoming Cowboy sophomore swimmer Adam Kalms won his second Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championship in as many days taking first in the 200-yard freestyle on Friday, at East Los Angeles College in Los Angeles. Kalms won his championship in the 200 freestyle breaking the MPSF and school record for the second time during the championships with a time of 1:34.52. After three days of competition the Cowboys are in third place of the 10 team field with 401.5 team points. The Pokes are 16 points behind first-place BYU and 11 points behind second-place UNLV.

"Adam's swim was the swim of the night for us tonight," Wyoming associate head coach Matt Leach said. "This is a very close meet and tomorrow morning will be a predictor of who is going to win this thing."

Kalms won the 200 freestyle championship sweeping both the preliminary and finals. He was followed by junior Ethan Griffel who took runner-up honors moving from fourth (1:37.48) in the preliminaries to second in the finals with a time of 1:36.89.

In the 400 individual medley, freshman Ryan Nelson put together two excellent swims opening with a first-place finish in the preliminaries with a time of 3:49.25. Nelson came back in the finals to finish second place and dropped two seconds off his time to finish with a school record time of 3:47.23. Sophomore Jordan Turner and senior Trevor LeValley also earned places in the championship final with fourth (3:52.58) and eighth (3:53.85) place finishes, respectively, in the preliminaries. Turner returned in the finals finishing fourth with a time of 3:50.49, while LeValley came back to finish the finals in eighth with a time of 3:55.73.

"Ryan, Jordan and Trevor were amazing tonight their swims scored us a lot of points," Leach said. "Ryan absolutely destroyed our school record tonight. It was a great swim, especially for a freshman."

Sophomore Mike McCormick swam his way into the championship final of the 100 breaststroke finishing fourth with an NCAA "B" provisional time of 54.95. McCormick returned to the final placing fifth with a time of 55.26.

In the 100 backstroke, junior Jayce Calhoon took fifth in the preliminaries with a time of 49.21 earning a place in the championship final. In the final, Calhoon finished seventh touching the wall in 49.85.The evening's relay event at the MPSF Championships was the 400 medley with Calhoon, sophomore Mike McCormick and juniors Nick Rutecki and Ethan Griffel finishing fifth with a time of 3:16.04.

In Colorado Springs, Colo., at the Air Force Academy junior Derek Campbell finished first in the preliminary round of diving on the 1-meter springboard with a mark of 307.00. In the championship competition, Campbell finished second with a final score of 308.50. Freshman Eric McMillin continued his excellent weekend of diving finishing the preliminary round of diving in 15th place with a score of 250.70. McMillin dove in the consolation final finishing third and 11th overall with a final tally of 284.95.

"Both Derek and Eric are having great weekends," Wyoming diving coach Yahya Radman said. "There is some very tough competition here and I am happy with our results so far. We are very pleased with our performance but not satisfied."

At the Mountain West Championships in San Antonio, Texas, the Cowgirls moved up one place to finish the day in third place with 320 team points.

"The ladies are in position to hold on to third place and we just need to finish strong," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson said.

Freshman Molly Coonce broke the school record in the 100 butterfly. Coonce earned a place in the championship final after placing sixth in the preliminaries with a time of 54.37. Coonce broke the school record in the championship final moving up one place to finish fifth with a time of 54.26. Her time was also an NCAA "B" provisional time. Also earning a place in the championship final was sophomore Claudia Carlson who finished the preliminaries in seventh place (54.52) and came back in the finals also to finish seventh with a time of 54.26.

"We had great swims from everyone in the 100 fly tonight," Johnson said. "Both Molly and Claudia were under the school record and swam terrific."

Junior Morgan Hartigan had two excellent swims in the 100 breaststroke finishing third in the preliminary with a time of 1:01.73. Hartigan came back in the championship final improving on her time finishing third with a NCAA "B" provisional time of 1:01.49. Coonce continued her excellent night earning a place in the championship final placing fifth in the preliminary with a time of 1:02.44. In the final, Coonce touched the wall in seventh with a time of 1:03.18. Junior Stephanie Young also swam her way into the championship final taking sixth in the preliminary with a time of 1:02.64. Young moved on to the final and finished eighth with a time of 1:03.43.

"The 100 breast really separated us from UNLV and Nevada," Johnson said. "Morgan, Molly and Stephanie gave us a lot of points in that event and helped us keep our lead over those two teams."

In the 400 IM, senior Jessy Badaracco swam her way into the championship final taking fifth place in the preliminaries with the second-fastest time in school history of 4:18.23. In the final, Badaracco finished sixth with a time of 4:18.71.

"Jessy had a terrific swim in the 400 IM tonight," Johnson said. "She was amazing and has had a great weekend of racing so far."

In the 200 freestyle, freshman Emily Stucky placed sixth (1:48.67) in the preliminary and returned to take sixth in the championship final finishing in 1:48.82. Sophomore Jordan Denny took 10th (1:49.82) in the preliminaries and came back to win the consolation final and finish ninth overall with a time of 1:48.24.

The MW relay event of the evening was the 200 freestyle with Hartigan, sophomore Melanie McDonough, and freshman Emily Ridout and Stucky finished third with a time of 1:31.65.

Both conference championships will conclude on Saturday. The MPSF Championships will begin at 11:30 a.m. MT with the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke and 200 butterfly preliminaries. The men's platform diving competition will begin at 11 .m. MT. The MW Championships will begin at 10 a.m. MT with the 200 back, 100 free, 200 breast and 200 fly preliminaries. The women's platform dive preliminaries will begin at 11:30 a.m. MT.