UW Divers Final During Day Two of the NCAA Zone 'E' Championships

March 10, 2006


Complete Results in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

All five University of Wyoming divers competed in the finals of the women's 3-meter and men's 1-meter diving events during the second day of the 2006 NCAA Zone "E" Championships at the Oklahoma City Community College in Oklahoma City.

Leading the way for the Cowgirls was sophomore Ginni van Katwijk who dove to the highest UW finish on the day. Van Katwijk placed 11th in the 1-meter event with a score of 526.75. Junior Emily Keefer finished just behind van Katwijk with a 13th place score of 510.30. Sophomore Brittany Wainwright rounded out the Cowgirl lineup with an 18th place score of 490.35.

The solid finishes for van Katwijk and Keefer will be just short of qualifying for the NCAA Championships as the top-11 women from Zone "E" will qualify.

"I am super proud of our girls today," said UW diving coach Ben Herdt. "It is just phenomenal to have all three girls finish in the top-18 of this very talented zone. I think they really turned some heads around here today. We were right on the cusp of getting someone qualified for the NCAA's which is very promising considering they are all underclassmen."

Cowboy juniors John Lynch and Kevin Bretting also had a very good day as they competed in the 1-meter event. Lynch led the way with a 12th place score of 531.70 while Bretting placed 13th with a score 512.70.

"Our guys had a really good showing in the 1-meter event today," added Herdt. "I think our guys are a little tougher in 3-meter because of their technical ability. To hold their own like this in 1-meter was very impressive."

Blythe Hartley of USC won the women's 3-meter event with a score of 712.85. Hartley is the defending NCAA Champion in both the 1-meter and 3-meter events. Arizona State's Joona Puhakka won the men's 1-meter event for the second-consecutive year with 842.10 points.

The zone meet will conclude tomorrow as both the men and women compete in the platform event. Following tomorrow's competition, the qualifiers for the NCAA Championships will be announced. The top-11 women and eight men will qualify for the championships.