Cowboy Swimming and Diving Races Past Colorado School of Mines, 162-114

Oct. 26, 2013


UW-CSM Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

Sophomore Ryan Nelson broke a 29-year old Corbett Pool record in the 400 individual medley to lead the University of Wyoming Cowboy swimming and diving team past Colorado School of Mines, 162-114 in Corbett Pool on Saturday afternoon. UW honored five seniors before the dual against the Orediggers, as Jayce Calhoon, Jeff Frey, Ethan Griffel, Nick Rutecki and Derek Campbell competed for the last time in Corbett Pool.

"I thought we swam really well and tough today," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson said. "A couple events that got away from us, but in the end we had some great swims."

Nelson's record swim of 4:04.42 in the 400 individual medley was the fastest time in Corbett Pool since New Mexico's Gordy Westberg swam a 4:04.84 in 1984. Another Corbett Pool record also fell in the Cowgirls' time trials, as senior Morgan Hartigan swam a 55.11 in the 100 backstroke passing two-time All-American Kelsey Conci's time of 55:49 in 2011.

"I was swimming in the meet the last time that record was broken and to break that time this early in the year is unbelievable and shows how hard Ryan works, "Johnson said. "Morgan broke a big time pool record by a great swimmer in Kelsey, it was a great effort for a swimmer that just started backstroking in practice last season."

Wyoming got off to a fast start taking the first two events of the afternoon. The relay team of Calhoon, junior Jordan Turner, sophomore George Eglesfield and junior Ryan O'Leary won the 400 medley relay with a time of 3:28.07. O'Leary also took home an individual crown in the 100 freestyle at 46.20 and 50 freestyle at 21.29. Turner added a win in the 200 butterfly with a time of 1:57.42.

Junior Adam Kalms won two individual events and one relay on the afternoon. Kalms opened his day with a victory in the 100 breaststroke at 57.70. He also took the crown in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:47.02. Kalms wrapped up his day by teaming up with O'Leary, Frey and Griffel in the 200 freestyle relay finishing at 1:23.09. Griffel also added a victory in the 100 butterfly with a time of 50.84.

Other winners for the Cowboys were sophomore Austin Layman, who won his first career event with a win in the 100 backstroke with a time of 42.55. Freshman Patrick Jones also added his first win at UW with a victory in the 1650 freestyle with a time of 17:12.21. Junior Michael McCormick won the 200 breaststroke at 2:12.77.

In the diving events, Campbell impressed in his final meet in Corbett Pool winning both the 1-meter and 3-meter springboard events. He recorded a 300.75 in the 3-meter event and a 294.20 in the 1-meter dive. Freshman Jake Rehmeier placed second in both events with scores of 204.07 in the 1-meter and 187.7 in the 3-meter.

The Cowboys return to the pool next Saturday at 1 p.m., as UW takes on rival Air Force at the Laramie Recreation Center.