Cowboys in Second And Cowgirls In Sixth After Day Two Of Phill Hansel Invite

Nov. 16, 2012


Phil Hansel Day Two Results Get Acrobat Reader

The Wyoming swimming and diving teams completed the second day of action at the Phil Hansel Invitational in Houston, with the Cowboys in second place of the six-team field with 632 team points and the Cowgirls in sixth place of the 15-team field with 171 points.

On the day, the Cowboys won two individual events and a relay event. Freshman Ryan Nelson swept the 400 individual medley for the Cowboys. He took first in the preliminary rounds with a time of 3:58.65 and came back to drop four seconds off in the final finishing with a time of 3:54.50. Sophomore Adam Kalms swept the 200 freestyle taking first in the preliminary with a time of 1:39.15. He dropped four seconds off his preliminary time to break a school record and take first in the final with a time of 1:35.53. Kalms time was also an NCAA "B" provisional time. In the night's final event, the 800 freestyle relay, the Cowboys "A" squad of, Kalms, Ryan O'Leary, Tyler Kybartas and Ethan Griffel, touched the wall first with a time of 6:35.18, which was three full seconds ahead of its nearest competition.

"The men had an awesome day today," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson said. "Ryan Nelson jumped into our top 10 all time in the 400 IM and had an excellent swim. Adam had a blistering 200 freestyle tonight smashing our school record. I am blown away how great Adam has been in that event this season. We dominated the 800 free relay all four guys were just blistering in that event."

The first event of tonight's finals was the 200 medley relay. The Cowgirl "A" squad of Jordan Denny, Morgan Hartigan, Jessy Badaracco and Melanie McDonough finished the highest in sixth place with a time of 1:42.05.

"I think our ladies had some excellent swims today," Johnson said. "We did not quite have the performance I was looking for this morning, but I was impressed with how we came out tonight and moved up. We are now close to Houston who is in fifth and we will see what happens tomorrow."

After the Cowboys "A" group was disqualified in the 200 medley relay for an early start the "B" group of Jayce Calhoon, Jordan Turner, Bryce Carter and Ethan Griffel finished the highest in eighth with a time of 1:34.45. The UW "C" group of Brendan Costello, Kyle Scalise, George Eglesfield and Ryan O'Leary finished 11th (1:36.76).

The night session of individual events began with 400 individual medley. After finishing ninth (4:22.46) in the preliminaries, Badaracco dropped two second of her preliminary time to finish with a time of 4:20.75.

In the men's 400 IM preliminaries, five Cowboys made the championship final finishing in the top eight of the preliminary rounds. Nelson took first in both rounds for UW. Senior Trevor LeValley finished both the preliminary in second (4:00.99) and followed Nelson in the final taking second with a time of 3:59.11. After taking fourth in the preliminary, Calhoon moved up one place in the final to take third with a time of 4:00.07. Cowboys Turner and Joseph Ferreri finished the preliminary in third (4:01.16) and seventh (4:07.86), respectively. Turner came back and took sixth in the final with a time of 4:01.50, while Ferreri finished seventh with a time of 4:09.37.

"We were completely dominating in the men's 400 IM tonight," Johnson said. "I think we really made a statement in that event today."

In the women's 200 butterfly, Cowgirls Badaracco and Molly Coonce swam their way into the consolation final with respective finishes of 10th (55.52) and 11th (55.61) in the preliminaries. Badaracco moved up one place in the finals to finish ninth with a time of 55.15 and Coonce finished the final 13th with a time of 56.04. On the men's side, Nick Rutecki finished the preliminary tied for third with a time of 49.87. He came back in the final and tied for fifth place with a time of 49.70.

The next event in the lineup was the 200 freestyle. The Cowgirls highest finisher was Denny who took 18th (1:50.80) in the preliminaries and moved up one place in the final to finish 17th with a time of 1:49.59 which was an NCAA "B" provisional time. Cowboy Kalms won the 200 freestyle for the men, with teammate Ethan Griffel finishing second with a time of 1:38.02. Senior Tyler Kybartas finished both the preliminary (1:40.61) and the final in seventh place (1:40.75).

Following the 200 free was the 100 breaststroke. On the women's side, Stephanie Young swam her way into the championship final with a seventh-place finish in the preliminaries (1:02.61). She came back and finished seventh in the finals with a time of 1:02.94. Hartigan finished the 100 breast preliminaries in ninth (1:03.12) and came back to take 10th in the finals (1:02.36). Two Cowboys, McCormick and Turner swam in the 100 breast championship final finishing fifth and sixth with times of 57.06 and 57.35, respectively.

In the women's 100 backstroke, Denny finished the preliminaries in eighth with a time of 55.49, she returned in the final and took eighth with a time of 58.84. In the men's 100 backstroke, Kalms continued his excellent meet taking third in the preliminary with a time of 50.17. Calhoon and Griffel finished the prelims in seventh (51.20) and eighth (51.25), respectively. Kalms moved up one place in the championship final and finished second with a time of 48.86. Calhoon and Griffel both finished the championship final in the same place as the preliminary taking seventh and eighth with times of 51.11 and 51.45, respectively.

The final event of the night was the 800 freestyle with the Cowboys "A" group winning. The Cowboys "B" group of Kevin Waller, Matt Cook, Nelson and Calhoon finished third with a time of 6:52.39. The Cowgirls "A" group of Emily Stucky, Paige Fischer, Badaracco and Denny finished in ninth place with a time of 7:25.69.

Today's diving action was on 1-meter springboard for the women and 3-meter for the men. The Cowgirls highest finisher on the 1-meter was senior Sasha Andrie who took 20th with a mark of 239.05. For the Cowboys, junior Derek Campbell finished the highest in 15th (263.65) and freshman Eric McMillin took 20th (251.45).

"We are not diving at as high of a level as I would like right now, but we are on the right track," Wyoming diving coach Yahya Radman said. "This is a great learning experience for us to dive against some very excellent competition. This type of competition will give us excellent experience for conference later this season."

Wyoming will conclude the Phil Hansel Invitational on Saturday with preliminaries beginning at 9 a.m. MT.