Women's Swimming And Diving Places 11 Individuals And Three Relays On All-MW Team

Feb. 26, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The University of Wyoming women's swimming and diving placed 11 individuals and three relay squads on the All-Mountain West swimming and diving team announced Tuesday by the conference. The Cowgirls 11 individual honorees and three relay awards were both the third-most of conference teams. The 11 honorees is also the second-most in school history behind the 2010 squad that had 15. All conference awards are given to the top eight of individual events and the top three of relay events.

Of the 11 Cowgirls garnering the honor, six earned multiple awards. Senior Jessy Badaracco, junior Morgan Hartigan, sophomore Claudia Carlson and freshman Molly Coonce led the way with three awards each. Badaracco earned honors in the 200-yard butterfly, 200 individual medley and 400 IM. It was her second-consecutive year earning All-MW in the 200 butterfly and 400 IM and the first in the 200 IM. Hartigan earned her second-consecutive honor in the 100 breaststroke and earned her first honors in the 50 and 100 freestyle. She earned the honor in the 100 freestyle by winning the MW Championship. Carlson was honored for the second-straight season in the 100 and 200 butterfly, while earning her first selection in the 200 IM. Coonce earned her first all-conference selection in the 100 and 200 breaststroke as well as the 100 butterfly.

Also earning multiple honors were junior diver Amanda Fay and freshman Nicole Hlavacek. Fay earned the first honors of her career on the 3-meter springboard and the platform. Hlavacek earned the first accolades of her career in the 500 and 1650 freestyle.

Earning one individual award were junior Stephanie Young, junior Leah Roesler, sophomore Halie Lacey, sophomore Jordan Denny and freshman Emily Stucky. Young earned her second-consecutive honor in the 100 breaststroke. Also garnering All-MW for the second-straight season was Denny in the 200 backstroke. Roesler earned the first honor of her career in the 200 butterfly, while Lacey was selected to her first all-conference team in the 200 breaststroke and Stucky produced her first honor in the 200 freestyle.

Relay teams with all-conference selections were the 200 freestyle, 800 freestyle and 400 medley relay. Combining on the 200 freestyle relay were Hartigan, Stucky, Badaracco and sophomore Melanie McDonough. It is the third-consecutive season the UW 200 freestyle relay squad earned all-conference honors as well as the third-straight time Hartigan has been a member of that team. On the 800 freestyle relay were Denny, Stucky, Badaracco and senior Paige Fischer who combined to garner the Cowgirls second all-time award in that event. Combining for UW's fourth-consecutive honor in the 400 medley relay were Denny, Young, Coonce and Hartigan.

2012-13 Mountain West Women's Swimming & Diving All-Conference Team - Cowgirl Honorees
Jessica Badaracco 200-yard butterfly, 200-yard individual medley, 400-yard individual medley
Claudia Carlson 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard butterfly, 200-yard individual medley
Molly Coonce 100-yard breaststroke, 100-yard butterfly, 200-yard breaststroke
Jordan Denny 200-yard backstroke
Amanda Fay 3-meter springboard, platform diving
Nicole Hlavacek 500-yard freestyle, 1650-yard freestyle
Morgan Hartigan 50-yard freestyle, 100-yard breaststroke, 100-yard freestyle
Halie Lacey 200-yard breaststroke
Leah Roesler 200-yard butterfly
Emily Stucky 200-yard freestyle
Stephanie Young 100-yard breaststroke

200-yard freestyle relay Morgan Hartigan, Emily Ridout, Emily Stucky, Melanie McDonough
800-yard freestyle relay Jordan Denny, Emily Stucky, Jessica Badaracco, Paige Fischer400-yard medley relay Jordan Denny, Stephanie Young, Molly Coonce, Morgan Hartigan