Three Wyoming Divers To Take Part In The NCAA Zone

March 8, 2011

LARAMIE, Wyo. - Three Wyoming divers have qualified for the 2011 NCAA Zone "E" Diving Championships that will begin on Thursday, March. 10, in Minneapolis, Minn.

Wyoming senior divers Mark Murdock, Kyle Bogner and Allie Smith will all continue their diving seasons on Thursday at the Zone meet.

"I think we are looking really strong heading into this contest," Wyoming diving coach Pat Bukowski said. "If we dive like I know we can, all three kids should qualify for the NCAAs. It is going to be a very exciting week for us. All three of them are diving really strong right now and I know they will come out and perform well."

Zone "E" consists of 35 schools from 11 states in the West Region that include Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

At this weekend's Zone championships, there are eight NCAA qualifying spots on the men's side and six spots available on the women's side.

At the 2011 Mountain West Conference Championships, Murdock stole the show, winning the platform dive and the 3-meter springboard championships. Murdock won his second consecutive MWC platform championship with a score of 367.05, and his first 3-meter championship with a score of 363.45. Murdock also placed third on the 1-meter with a score of 330.65. Fellow Cowboy Kyle Bogner placed fourth on the 3-meter (342.00), fifth on the 1-meter (307.00) and seventh on the platform (273.65).

Smith's highest finish at the 2011 MWC Championships was on the 3-meter, where she placed second with a mark of 309.50. She then placed fourth on the 1-meter with a mark of 275.10, and placed 12th on the platform (187.00).

"They (the three seniors) have been through a lot," added Bukowski. "I am their third coach in four years and I wanted to make sure they leave UW with a good taste in their mouths. I think that will be taken care of when they all finish their careers at the NCAAs."

The Zone meet will begin on Thursday with the men's 1-meter springboard and the women's 3-meter.

For more information on the Zone "E" Diving Championships see the link below: