Five Wyoming Divers Set to Compete in NCAA Zone E Diving Championships

March 9, 2005


Five University of Wyoming divers will compete in the NCAA Zone "E" Diving Championships this Thursday through Saturday at the Oklahoma City Community College in Oklahoma City, Okla.

A pair of Cowboys will be competing in this year's championships in senior Adam Miller and sophomore John Lynch. Both Cowboys competed in last year's zone championships, for the first time in their career.Miller dove to a 14th place finish on the platform board, a 16th place finish in 1-meter action and a 25th place finish on the 3-meter board. Lynch placed 12th on the platform, 24th on the 1-meter and 26th in 3-meter competition.

Three Cowgirls will be competing in this year's championships in sophomore Saara Haapanen and freshmen Ginni van Katwijk and Brittany Wainwright. Haapanen dove in last year's zones and finished 15th in platform competition, 21st in 1-meter and 22nd in 3-meter action.

The Zone "E" Diving Championships will run from Thursday to Saturday, March 10-12. Six men and nine women from Zone "E" will qualify for the NCAA Championships. This number of qualifiers is based on each individual zones performance at the 2004 NCAA Championships.

In other swimming and diving news, the Mountain West Conference announced the 2005 First and Second-Team All-MWC selections, last week. Seven Cowboys and seven Cowgirls were named to the first-team. On the men's side, UNLV led the way with 10 first-team All-MWC honorees, followed by BYU and Utah with eight apiece, Wyoming (seven) and Air Force (three). BYU and Utah topped the women's list with nine first-team selections apiece, followed by UNLV (eight), Wyoming (seven), and Colorado State and New Mexico (five apiece). Air Force rounded out the list with one first-team selection.

Following is a list of Wyoming swimmers and divers recognized by theMWC:

MWC Men's First-Team Selections:Ron Fogel, Wyoming (200 butterfly)Henry Holmberg, Wyoming (500 freestyle, 1650 freestyle)John Lynch, Wyoming (1-meter diving, platform diving)Carl Marais, Wyoming (200 freestyle, 200 backstroke)Scott Usher, Wyoming (100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke)Wyoming 800 freestyle relay (Birks, Marais, Kritzinger, Holmberg)

MWC Women's First-Team Selections:Lauren Beard, Wyoming (200 individual medley)Lindsey Russenberger, Wyoming (100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke)Ginni van Katwijk, Wyoming (3-meter diving, platform diving)Wyoming 200 freestyle relay (Thorson, Bonin, Kotby, Lehnertz)

MWC Men's Second-Team Selections:Gene Birks, Wyoming (100 butterfly)Ron Fogel, Wyoming (500 freestyle)Henry Holmberg, Wyoming (200 freestyle)Nick King, Wyoming (1650 freestyle)Sam King, Wyoming (400 individual medley)John Lynch, Wyoming (3-meter diving)Carl Marais, Wyoming (100 freestyle)Adam Miller, Wyoming (1-meter diving)Wyoming 200 medley relay (Marais, Usher, Birks, Kritzinger)Wyoming 400 medley relay (Marais, Usher, Birks, Kritzinger)

MWC Women's Second-Team Selections:Lauren Beard, Wyoming (400 individual medley)Saara Haapanen, Wyoming (3-meter diving)Holly Hansen, Wyoming (1650 freestyle)Tamara Lehnertz, Wyoming (200 freestyle)Kristin Lewis, Wyoming (200 butterfly)Alex Leziy-Miller, Wyoming (200 breaststroke)Erin Spadinger, Wyoming (100 breaststroke)Brittany Wainwright, Wyoming (1-meter diving)Wyoming 200 medley relay (Leyes, Spadinger, Thorson, Bonin)