Wyoming Swimming And Diving Announces 2010-11 Team Award Winners

April 27, 2011

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The Wyoming Swimming and Diving team and coach Tom Johnson are proud to announce team award winners for the 2010-11 season. The awards were presented at the annual awards banquet April 15 in Laramie.

Kelsey Conci received this year's most inspirational award for the Cowgirls, while David Schmitt was given the honor for the Cowboys.

"David is a guy who always thinks of his team and his teammates first," Johnson said." He is an all-around good guy, a good teammate and a pleasure to coach."

The scholar-athletes for the 2010-11 season were Lesley Young and Trevor LeValley. Young currently carries a 3.4 grade point average in mechanical engineering, while LeValley carries a 3.8 GPA in chemical engineering.

"Lesley is a four-time Mountain West Conference Scholar-Athlete and Wyoming Swimming and diving's first three-time Academic All-American," Johnson added. "Trevor has demonstrated to his teammates and coaches that he works as hard in school as he does in the pool."

The 2010-11 Wyoming Swimming and Diving most improved awards went to Cowgirl Jessy Badaracco and Cowboy Jayce Calhoon.

The final award given out at the awards banquet was the most outstanding athlete award. Receiving the most outstanding athlete award on the women's side was Conci, who was an Honorable Mention All-American. She holds the school record, pool record and MWC record in the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 52.54 seconds. She also holds the school record in the 100 freestyle with a time of 49.51. Conci is also part of the school records in the 200 and 400 medley relay, as well as the 200 and 400 relays.

"Kesley's willingness to devote her time for the team has been tremendous," Johnson said. "She has continued to improve every season. She leads the way for future athletes."

This year's men's most outstanding athlete award was given to Honorable Mention All-American senior diver Mark Murdock. He is the two-time MWC champion on the 10-meter platform. He is also the 2011 MWC champion on the 3-meter springboard. He is the school record holder on the 3-meter and the platform, as well as the Corbett Pool Record holder on the 1-and 3-meter boards. Murdock was also given the Wyoming diver of the year award at the banquet.