UW Swimming and Diving Honors Team and Individuals at Awards Dinner

April 28, 2015

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming swimming and diving teams celebrated their season with their annual banquet in the Wildcatter Stadium Club and Suites. The Cowboys and Cowgirls handed out awards varying from Most Outstanding Athlete to Scholar Athlete.

"It was a nice celebration to recognize people who have gone above and beyond for our program," UW head coach Tom Johnson said. "We also recognized our student-athletes that helped promote UW swimming and diving in the community."

Senior Adam Kalms and freshman Maria Harutjunjan earned the Mark Miller Most Outstanding Athlete Award. Kalms became the third Cowboy to make three trips to the NCAA Championships joining Scott Usher and Mark Miller. Kalms had an excellent season for the Cowboys. He won a Western Athletic Conference title in the 200 freestyle for the third straight season. Kalms also earned a conference title in the 100 freestyle. Harutjunjan was the Mountain West champion in the 100 breaststroke and placed second in the 200 breaststroke. She also earned All-MW honors in the 400 medley relay.

Junior diver Kari Campbell was named Diver of the Year. She was an All-MW selection in the platform dive. She also qualified for the NCAA Zone "E" Diving Championship for the second straight season. Campbell broke her own school record on the platform dive with a tally of 273.50.

Most Improved Athletes went to freshmen Connor Tarver and Slade Sheaffer. Tarver earned All-MW honors in the 200 backstroke with the fourth fastest time in school history. Sheaffer turned in his top marks of the season in the 50 freestyle at 21.38 and 100 freestyle at 46.22.

The Scholar Athlete Award was awarded to juniors Austin Layman and Nicole Hlavacek. Both athletes were named to their respective Academic All-Conference teams. The David Schmitt Most Inspirational Athlete awards went to senior Michael McCormick and junior Emily Ridout.

The final award given out was the Best in the West Trophy given to the student-athletes who have worked the hardest in Wyoming's offseason conditioning. The winners of the award went to juniors Kyle Scalise and Emily Stucky.

Wyoming also named it's team captains for the 2015-16 season. Cowboy captains are Nelson and Scalise. Stucky, Campbell, Ridout and Lauren McClure were named captains for the Cowgirls.

"We are excited about our captains for next season and they will continue the great tradition of this program," Johnson said.