Wyoming Swimming and Diving Wraps Up Season with Annual Awards Banquet

April 30, 2010


After a successful season for the Wyoming swimming and diving team that ended with the Cowgirl's highest finish ever at the conference championships, the team's annual end of the year awards banquet was held last week in Laramie.

Award winners from the past season were named, along with the announcement of the 2010-11 team captains.

Elected captains on the women's team were Cowgirl senior Lesley Young and junior Lauren Hewson. Seniors Brett Henehan and David Schmitt were voted captains for the Cowboys.

"It was a great time and very enjoyable banquet for the athletes and their families," said UW head coach Tom Johnson. "The parents went out of their way to make it a memorable night for everyone. Special awards were handed out after a very special season for Wyoming swimming and diving."

Awarded Most Outstanding Athlete were Cassie Stelow for the women and Brandon Fischer for the men. Most Improved went to Kenzie Hewson for the Cowgirls and Sam Holmes for the Cowboys, while the Scholar Athlete award was given to Emily Huth and Trevor LeValley. Kari Budd was named Most Inspirational on the women's team and David Schmitt earned the honor on the men's side, Diver of the Year was awarded to Stephanie Ortiz.