Wyoming Swimming And Diving Announces 2011-12 Award Winners

May 7, 2012

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming swimming and diving teams and head coach Tom Johnson announced Monday the 2011-12 team award recipients.

Senior Marshall Dilworth received the first-annual David Schmitt Most Inspirational Cowboy Athlete award. Dilworth, a native of Peoria, Ariz., has left his mark on the UW swimming program as the school and Corbett Pool record holder in the 100 backstroke. Receiving the Cowgirls Most Inspirational award was senior Kelsey Conci.

"Marshall took on a lot this year," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson said. "He gave so much of his time to his teammates, the athletics department as a whole and to SAAC as its president this year. As for Kelsey, she is very supportive, hardworking and most importantly a great teammate that her fellow swimmers can look up to."

Winning the most outstanding female athlete was senior swimmer Conci. A native of Craig, Colo., she is the first Cowgirl in history to earn back-to-back Honorable Mention All-America honors. Conci will leave UW as one of the best swimmers in school history. She is the record holder in the 100 backstroke, 100 freestyle and is a member of the 200, 400 medley and 200, 400 freestyle relay record holding squads. She set the Mountain West record in the 100 backstroke in both the 2011 and 2012 seasons. During the season she scored more dual points than any other female athlete on the team. She has also qualified for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials.

"Kelsey had another tremendous year," Johnson said. "Throughout the past two years she has led the way for future athletes to follow. She has put Wyoming swimming back on the map scoring points at the NCAA Championships the past two season."

Senior Brandon Fischer earned the most outstanding male athlete for the 2011-12 season. A native of Livermore, Calif., is a two-time Olympic Trial qualifier in the 100 and 200 breaststroke. He capped his career at UW winning the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Championship in the 200 individual medley. He qualified for the 2012 NCAA Championships and was the first Cowboy swimmer to do so since Olympian Scott Usher in 2003-05. During the season he scored more dual points and won more individual events than any other Cowboy. He concluded his career with the second-fastest swims in the 200 IM as well as the 100 and 200 breaststrokes.

"Brandon has been an invaluable part of this program over the last four years," Johnson said. "I am proud to have him as a two-time Olympic Trial qualifier. He has been a hard worker all four years he has been here. I was very proud of him to work extra hard this season to make NCAAs. It was a good cap to his career."

The 2011-12 Scholar-Athlete awards went to senior Cowgirl Caroline Wells and junior Cowboy Trevor LeValley. Wells, a native of Corvallis, Ore., graduated with a cumulative 4.0 GPA in kinesiology and health promotion. She was a four-time Academic All-MW and MW Scholar-Athlete. In the pool, Wells has the third-fastest 200 backstroke in UW history, the fourth-fastest 200 individual medley and sixth-fastest 100 backstroke. LeValley, a native of Lake Stevens, Wash., received his third-consecutive scholar-athlete award. He is a three-time academic all-conference honoree, with two Academic All-MW and one Academic All-MPSF honors. He was also named a two-time MW Scholar-Athlete. He is a 2012 First and Second Team All-MPSF honoree in the 400 IM and 200 butterfly, respectively.

"Caroline has been one of the most versatile and improved swimmers during her time at Wyoming," Johnson said. "She not only has been an exceptional student but a terrific swimmer all four years here. Trevor has demonstrated to his teammates and coaches that he works as hard in school as he does in the pool. Despite his rigorous course load he never uses it as an excuse."

The most improved awards went to freshmen Jordan Denny and Daniel Bradford. Denny, a native of Billings, Mont., earns the most improved award after dropping six seconds off her 200 backstroke time to win the MW Championship. Bradford, a native of Colorado Springs, Colo., dropped 10 seconds off his 200 IM swim during the season.

"Jordan has an absolutely terrific year," Johnson said. "To my knowledge she is the only freshman in Cowgirl history to win a conference championship. Daniel has shown significant growth this season and I am hoping he will continue to improve."

The 2011-12 Diver of the Year honor went to freshman Dalton Haas. Haas posted a team-high score on the 1-meter springboard during the season of 321.95. He also qualified for the NCAA Zone "E" Diving meet in his first collegiate season.

"Dalton has a great attitude and work ethic," Johnson said. "He has made tremendous progress over the last several months learning 16 new dives."