UW Swimming and Diving Honors Team and Individuals at Awards Dinner

May 9, 2014


The University of Wyoming swimming and diving teams celebrated their season with their annual banquet in the Wildcatter Stadium Club and Suites. The Cowboys and Cowgirls handed out awards varying from Most Outstanding Athlete to Scholar Athlete.

Senior Morgan Hartigan and junior Adam Kalms earned Most Outstanding Athlete honors. Hartigan earned a spot in the NCAA Championship and also became the first Cowgirl to swim in an individual medley event at the NCAA championship. Kalms earned his second Honorable Mention All-America honor this season in the 200 freestyle. He also became the third Cowboy to earn multiple All-America honors joining Scott Usher (2003-05) and Mark Miller (1987-88).

Senior diver Derek Campbell was named Diver of the Year. He was the Western Athletic Conference champion in the 3-meter springboard. He also earned Second Team All-WAC in the 1-meter springboard. Earlier in the season, he set the second-best score in Wyoming history in the 3-meter event with a tally of 379.65.

Most Improved Athletes went to freshmen Jacob Rehmeier and Danielle Badger. Rehmeier earned First Team All-WAC honors in the on the 3-meter springboard. He also earned Second Team All-WAC in the 1-meter springboard. Badger appeared in five meets for the Cowgirls in her first season with the program. She swam a season-best time of 24.72 in the 50 freestyle in duals against UIC and Northwestern.

The Scholar Athlete Award was awarded to sophomore Kyle Scalise and junior Aliyah Mikulski. Both athletes were named to their respective Academic All-Conference teams. Most Inspirational Athlete awards went to seniors Ethan Griffel and Amanda Fay.

The final award given out was the Best in the West Trophy given to the student-athletes who have worked the hardest in Wyoming’s offseason conditioning. The winners of the award went to juniors Michael McCormick and Emily Stucky.