Kalms Paces Large UW Contingent at U.S. Open

Aug. 8, 2013

IRVINE, Calif. -

A school-record 13 University of Wyoming swimmers competed in the 2013 U.S. Open last week at the William Woollett, Jr. Aquatics Center in Irvine, Calif.

"I was very pleased with the numbers of kids we had participate this year, since our numbers have doubled from last year," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnsonsaid. "I was also very pleased with the number of points we scored on the men's side and we will look to improve even more than that during the collegiate season."

Cowboy Adam Kalmsrecorded the best UW performance with an eighth-place finish in the 200-meter freestyle with a time of 1:49.93. The junior from Marmong Point, Australia, also finished 18th in the 100- meter freestyle with a time of 50.25 seconds.

Sophomore Ryan Nelsonrecorded two top-30 times including finishing 15th in the 400-meter individual medley with a time of 4:25.95, surpassing his career best time of 4:26.33 set at the Phillips 66 National & World Championship in June. Nelson also finished 28th in the 1,500-meter freestyle with a time of 15:50.72.

"Ryan continues to get better and has his goals set on qualifying for the NCAA Championships," Johnson said.

The Cowboys also sported two top-20 finishes in relay events, finishing 13th in the 4-by-200-meter freestyle relay with a time of 7:39.14 and 16th in the 4-by-100-meter freestyle relay at 3:29.94.

Cowgirl senior Morgan Hartiganrecorded a 37th place finish in the 100-meter breaststroke with a time of 1:12.69. Fellow Cowgirl Jordan Denny recorded a time of 2:20.49 in the 200-meter Backstroke placing 41st.

Other competitors at the 2013 U.S. Open for the Cowboys and Cowgirls included Jayce Calhoon (100- and 200-meter backstroke), Claudia Carlson (200-meter fly), Branden Costello (200-meter backstroke , Ethan Griffel (100-and 200-meter freestyle), Nicole Hlavacek (800-meter freestyle), Michael McCormick (100-and 200-meter breaststroke), Jordan Turner (200-meter breaststroke and 200-and 400-meter individual medley) and Kevin Waller in the 1,500-meter freestyle.