Scott Usher Set to Compete in 200 Breaststroke at Olympic Games

Aug. 13, 2004

LARAMIE, Wyo. -

*Read more about Scott Usher here!

University of Wyoming junior Scott Usher will compete for the United States in the 200-meter breaststroke next week at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens, Greece.

Usher, a Grand Island, Neb. native, earned a spot on the Olympic Team after placing second in the 200 meter breaststroke at the US Team Trials in July. He swam a time of 2:10.90, which is currently the fourth fastest time in the world. Texas Longhorn Brendan Hansen won the event in a world record time of 2:09.04.

The 200-breaststroke preliminaries are set to begin Tuesday, August 17 at 11:14 a.m. Athens time (2:14 a.m. MST). The semifinals will begin that night at 8:17 p.m. Athens Time (11:17 a.m. MST). The finals will run Wednesday, August 18 at 7:30 p.m. (10:30 a.m. MST).

NBC Universal will televise the 2004 Olympic Games on its stations NBC, MSNBC, CNBC, USA, BRAVO, Telemundo and NBC HD. The specific air times of the 200-breaststroke, however, are not known.

*See Olympic Results at www.usa-swimming.net*