Wyoming Swimming And Diving Finishes Preparations For The 2012-13 Season

Oct. 4, 2012

LARAMIE, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming swimming and diving team will begin its 2012-13 season with the annual Brown and Gold Dual on Friday, Oct. 5 beginning at 5 p.m., in Corbett Pool. For the dual, the Cowboys and Cowgirls split into co-ed teams to compete against one another. The intrasquad dual will be free to the public.

"The kids and the coaching staff have been looking forward to this event," Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson said. "It has always been a spirited and the last few years, surprisingly, a fast meet for us this early in the season. I am sure that the winners of the Brown and Gold meet not having Saturday morning practice, and getting to sleep in may have a lot to do with that. The Brown and Gold will really help us evaluate where we are in our training and shake out our lineup. It will also reveal areas that we need to work on with the season quickly approaching our team."

A look at the Cowgirls: The Cowgirls return seven All-Mountain West performers with two members of the All-MW 200 medley relay squad. Reigning MW champion sophomore Jordan Denny returns for the Cowgirls, along with two members of the conference champion 200 medley relay team, Mackenzie Norlin and Morgan Hartigan. Cowgirl swimming and diving placed fourth at the 2012 MW Championships. It was their sixth-consecutive season placing fourth or better at the conference championships. In 2011-12, the Cowgirls compiled a 6-3 overall dual record and 3-1 record in the MW. Wyoming set five school-record times in the 200 medley relay, 800 freestyle relay, 200 freestyle, 200 backstroke and 200 butterfly at last season's conference championships.

A look at the Cowboys: After one season in the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation, the Cowboys return one individual conference champion in Ethan Griffel, who won two championships in the 200 and 500 freestyle. The Pokes also return all four members of the MPSF champion 800 freestyle relay team in Adam Kalms, Griffel, Ryan O'Leary and Jayce Calhoon. The Cowboys placed third at their first-ever MPSF Championships. From that squad, UW returns four First Team All-MPSF performers and all four members of the First Team 800 freestyle relay. Wyoming also returns six Second Team members and at least two members of each of the Second Team relay squads (200 medley relay, 400 medley relay, 200 freestyle relay and 400 freestyle relay). As a team, UW set six school records and three MPSF Championship records. The third-place finish was the fifth-consecutive top-four placement at the respective conference championships. Wyoming head coach Tom Johnson earned MPSF Coach of the Year honors. It was his fourth conference Coach of the Year award and his first in the MPSF.