UW Track and Field Wraps Up Regular Season at Don Kirby Invite and Drake Relays

April 29, 2006


The University of Wyoming track and field teams finished up their regular season at the Don Kirby Invitational in Albuquerque, N.M., on Saturday. UW managed to take home four event titles and seven top-three finishes.

Sophomore Michael Arnwine had a great day for the Pokes with two individual event titles in the 110 and 400-meter hurdles. He posted a time of 14.90 in the 110's and 52.85 in the 400-meter hurdles. Senior Josh Barge finished close behind Arnwine with a third place time of 14.98. In the 5,000-meters, senior Ragan Driver finished third with a time of 15:20.38, while senior Brian Sinner grabbed two third place finishes in both the triple (46' 8-1/4") and long jump (22' 6-1/4").

For the Cowgirls, the 400-meter hurdles was owned by the UW women. Junior Aniis Hopkins won the event with a time of 1:02.44, just ahead of senior Ingvild Carstens' time of 1:03.10. Sophomore Danna Herbert rounded out the top-three in the event with her personal best time of 1:03.59. These three, along with sophomore Maricel Da Costa, took home the title in the 4x400-meter relay with a time of 3:51.75. Junior Lauri Smith was the lone Cowgirl to place in the top-three in the field events when she cleared 11' 3-3/4" in the pole vault.

There was also a small contingent of Wyoming athletes still competing at the prestigious Drake Relays in Des Moines, Iowa, on Saturday. Junior Kate Burton finished third in the hammer throw with a toss of 188' 3". In the 800-meters, senior Jeremiah Johnson finished fourth with a time of 1:51.51, while senior Blake Jackson's jump of 47' 2-1/2" was good enough for seventh in the triple jump. Rounding out the field was sophomore Shadrack Too and freshman Philemon Tanui in the 3,000-meter steeplechase. Tanui finished seventh with a time of 9:16.57, while Too finished in ninth place with a time of 9:17.92.

The UW track and field teams will take a week off before returning to competition for the Mountain West Conference Championships in Provo, Utah, on May 11-13.