Track & Field Earns 13 All-MW Honors

March 1, 2016

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - The University of Wyoming men’s and women’s track and field teams collected 13 All-Mountain West honors when the league office announced the all-conference teams Monday night. The 13 honors are the most the Cowboys and Cowgirls have won indoors since 15 in 2008. All-conference selections were awarded to the top-three finishers in each event at last weekend’s MW Indoor Championships.

Junior Audra DeStefano highlighted the eight honors for the Cowgirls with her fourth and fifth All-MW awards. She was a member of Wyoming’s distance medley relay that finished third and ran 11:31.66 to break the school record by 25 seconds, while individually she placed third in the 5,000 meters in a personal-best 16:35.84 to move up to second in UW history. Sophomore Kim Robertson was also a member of the DMR to earn her second all-conference accolade, while junior Cassidy Meade and sophomore Lauren Hamilton earned their first nod for All-MW as members of the relay. Freshmen Emelda Malm-Annan and Ja’la Henderson won events to nab their first all-conference awards. Malm-Annan topped the field in the weight throw with a toss of 62-10 1/2, while Henderson was first in the long jump with a leap of 19-4 3/4. Redshirt freshman Jerayah Davis was runner-up in the 60 meters for All-MW.

Senior Scott Carter garnered two of the five accolades for the Cowboys for the third and fourth of his career. He notched a personal-best 51-8 1/2 to win the triple jump and move up to fifth in Wyoming history in the event, while also placing third in the long jump at 23-10 3/4. Junior Jordan Charles was runner-up in the 60-meter hurdles in 7.89 for his fourth All-MW accolade. Senior Tyler Anderson and sophomore Ricky Faure both earned All-MW for the third time. Anderson won the weight throw in 63-6 1/4 and Faure was third in the 800 meters at 1:50.91.

Head coach Bryan Berryhill has guided the Cowboys and Cowgirls to 37 All-MW indoor honors during his four seasons at the helm for Wyoming.