All-MWC Indoor Track and Field Teams Announced

March 3, 2008


The Mountain West Conference announced its Men's and Women's Indoor Track and Field All-Conference teams today. All-conference selections are awarded to the top three finishers in each event.

On Saturday, the Conference announced the MWC Men's and Women's Coaches of The Year, High Point and Outstanding Performance award recipients. This year's MWC Men's Coach of the Year award was a three-way tie between Air Force's Ralph Lindeman, BYU's Mark Robison and Wyoming's Don Yentes. Lindeman received his third career accolade, while Robison received his fourth and Yentes received his second. On the women's side, TCU's Darryl Anderson became the first Horned Frog coach to be honored with coach of the year accolades.

Wyoming junior Jake Shanklin earned the MWC Men's Outstanding Performance award after securing his second consecutive title with an automatic qualifying mark of 71'-01.25" (21.67m) in the weight throw. His distance is also third-best in men's championship history.

Jeremiah James, a Wyoming freshman, became the second Cowboy to earn the MWC Men's High Point award with 21 points. James took the title in the long jump, placed third in the high jump and finished in fourth in the triple jump.

Men's Co-Coaches of the Year - Ralph Lindeman, AFA; Mark Robison, BYU; Don Yentes, WYO
Men's Outstanding Performance - Jake Shanklin, WYO (Weight Throw)
Men's High Point Award - Jeremiah James, WYO (21)



John Alderson, Wyoming (Long Jump, Triple Jump) Jeremiah James, Wyoming (High Jump, Long Jump)
Mark Korir, Wyoming (3,000 Meter Run; 5,000 Meter Run)
Sam Lambert, Wyoming (Weight Throw)
Jake Shanklin, Wyoming (Weight Throw)



Shaylee Babbitt, Wyoming (60 Meter Hurdles)
Kate Burton, Wyoming (Weight Throw)
Courtney Gougler, Wyoming (Weight Throw)
Emily Higgins, Wyoming (Mile Run; 3,000 Meter Run)
Gretchen Johnson, Wyoming (5,000 Meter Run)
Sharon Larrier, Wyoming (400 Meter Dash)