MWC Announces Swimming and Diving and Track and Field All-Conference Selections

March 6, 2007


The Mountain West Conference recently announced its swimming and diving and indoor track and field All-Conference selections and 13 Cowgirls, 13 Cowboys and three relay teams were honored.

Sophomore Aimee Stinson led the way for the Cowgirl swimmers, earning All-MWC honors in three events. She was honored in the 200 freestyle, 500 freestyle and 1650 freestyle, all three events in which she set a new school record. Three divers earned honors in multiple events. Senior Saara Haapanen was named First Team All-Conference in the one- and three-meter events while junior Brittany Wainwright and freshman Stephanie Ortiz were honored in the one-meter and platform events. Senior Erin Spadinger also earned all-conference honors in multiple events, the 100 and 200 breaststrokes. Other Cowgirls who were honored include freshman Kari Budd (200 butterfly), freshman Jessica Fruhwirth (200 breaststroke), senior Tamara Lehnertz (200 freestyle), senior Heidi Thorson (100 butterfly) and senior Emily Keefer (three-meter diving). The Cowgirl 200 medley relay team comprised of freshman Molly Janak, Spadinger, Thorson and freshman Cassie Stelow also garnered all-conference accolades.

For the Cowboy swimmers, senior divers Kevin Bretting and John Lynch led the way by earning all-conference honors in all three diving events. Sophomores Alex Larkin and Matt Urich were each honored in two swimming events, Larkin in both breaststrokes and Urich in both butterflies. Other Cowboys who received accolades include junior Levi Bell (100 breaststroke), senior Ron Fogel (200 butterfly), junior Sam King (200 IM), junior Will McCallum (100 breaststroke) and sophomore Tyler Miller (three-meter diving). The Cowboy 400 medley relay team of junior Sam Shook, Larkin, Urich and sophomore Eli Bell was also named All-MWC.

For the Cowboy track and field team, senior jumper Blake Jackson led the way as he earned All-MWC honors in both the long jump and triple jump. He was followed by redshirt freshman John Alderson who earned the honor for his performance in the triple jump. Sophomore weight thrower Jacob Shanklin was awarded his first all-confernece honor as he was the champion in the 35lb. weight throw event, while sophomore distance runner Mark Korir won the men's 3,000-meter race. The men's distance medley relay team was selected for their third place performance. The team was made up of seniors Philemon Tanui and Nick Cramer, Korir and freshman Keith Brauneis.

For the Cowgirls, senior weight thrower Shannon Popp was selected to the all-conference team with her performance in the 20lb. weight throw. Sophomore Adriana Friezen and junior Shaylee Babbitt were also selected to the team as they placed first and second respectively in the women's 60-meter hurdles.

Women's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Selections:
Kari Budd (200 butterfly)
Jessica Fruhwirth (200 breaststroke)
Saara Haapanen (one-meter diving, platform diving)
Emily Keefer (three-meter diving)
Tamara Lehnertz (200 freestyle)
Stephanie Ortiz (one-meter diving, platform diving)
Erin Spadinger (100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke)
Aimee Stinson (200 freestyle, 500 freestyle, 1650 freestyle)
Heidi Thorson (100 butterfly)
Brittany Wainwright (one-meter diving, platform diving)
200 Medley Relay(Molly Janak, Erin Spadinger, Heidi Thorson, Cassie Stelow)

Men's Swimming and Diving All-Conference Selections:
Levi Bell (100 breaststroke)
Kevin Bretting (one-meter diving, three-meter diving, platform diving)
Ron Fogel (200 butterfly)
Sam King (200 IM)
Alex Larkin (100 breaststroke, 200 breaststroke)
John Lynch (one-meter diving, three-meter diving, platform diving)
Will McCallum (100 breaststroke)
Tyler Miller (three-meter diving)
Matt Urich (100 butterfly, 200 butterfly)
400 Medley Relay(Sam Shook, Alex Larkin, Matt Urich, Eli Bell)

Women's Track and Field All-Conference Selections:
Shaylee Babbitt (60-meter hurdles)
Adriana Friezen (60-meter hurdles)
Shannon Popp (20lb. weight throw)

Men's All-Conference Selections:
John Alderson (triple jump)
Blake Jackson (long jump and triple jump)
Mark Korir (3,000-meter run)
Jacob Shanklin (35lb. weight throw)
Distance Medley Relay(Philemon Tanui, Nick Cramer, Mark Korir and Keith Brauneis)