Wyoming Track Earns 11 All-Conference Honors

May 15, 2012

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - Ten University of Wyoming track and field student-athletes and one relay team were awarded All-Conference honors, the Mountain West Conference announced Monday.

All-MW selections are given to the top three finishers in each event at the MW Outdoor Championships, which took place over the weekend.

The Cowboys to be named All-Mountain West include seniors Nick Ekel, Jeremiah James and Greg Miller, juniors Henry Ferreira and Joe Plante and sophomore Garrett Zans.

Ekel was the first Wyoming champ in the 10,000-meter run in Mountain West history, finishing in a time of 31:06.54 to knock off defending champion Nicholas Kipruto of New Mexico. Plante notched a conference-best mark of 184 feet, 7 inches on his final throw to earn the title in the men's discus, becoming the Cowboys' second-ever MW champion in the event and their first since 2001. He claimed his third All-MW accolade.

James was third in the triple jump to earn his third outdoor All-MW honor. Miller and Zans were second in the 5,000- and 3,000-meter steeplechase, respectively, and Ferreira was the conference runner-up in the javelin.

The Cowgirl honorees included senior Ashley Hutchinson, who claimed second in the hammer throw, and sophomore Erin Kirby, who earned the runner-up spot in the 400-meter hurdles.

Sophomores Jenna Mann and Candace Wollert were third in the heptathlon and the 800-meter run, respectively. The 4-by-400-meter relay team of Audrey West, Lindsey Simmons, Samantha Kee and Kirby was third earn the distinction.

Wollert and Kirby earned their second-straight All-MW honors.