Wyoming Cross Country Teams Compete at Colorado State Open

Sept. 14, 2002


The University of Wyoming cross country teams competed in their second meet of the 2002 season in Fort Collins, Colo. at the Colorado State Open.

Western State won the men's team title and Colorado State claimed the women's team title. Western State's Josh Eberly was the top finisher for the men with a time of 25:56 (8k). Western State's Rebecca Mackie followed suit by claiming the top spot in the women's field with a time of 21:03 (6k).

As a team the Cowboys finished fourth out of seven teams with 156 points. Freshman Brian Knight paced the men's squad for the second straight week with a 22nd place finish and a time of 26:34. Other Cowboy finishers were sophomore Amasa Mecham (27th, 27:03), freshman Troy Hernandez (28th, 27:13), freshman Brian Harnish (33rd, 27:50), and junior Joel Hess (46th, 29:04).

The Cowgirls placed third out of seven teams with 133 points. Sophomore Natalie Kean had the top finish for Wyoming finishing 20th with a time of 23:11. Sophomore Ashley Mecham followed Kean placing 21st with a time of 23:23. Other Cowgirls that competed were senior Stephanie Hanks (24th, 23:41), freshman Elena Helmerick (33rd, 24:22), freshman Emerald Reid (35th, 24:28), freshman Kristen Braunies (40th, 24:50), freshman Christine Michel (41st, 24:51), junior Cathy Cooper (44th, 25:13), freshman Heather Chase (46th 25:39), freshman Amber Barlow (58th 26:42), sophomore Marina Latchininsky (60th, 27:00), sophomore Jessica Johnson (67th, 27:37), freshman Maggie Diller (68th, 27:46), and sophomore Amy Curkendall (70th, 28:19).

"We had a good day out on the course," Said head cross country coach Jim Sanchez. "The 6k for the women and the 8k for the men was a new experience for most of our runners, so this was a real experience for them."

Sanchez also added, "Our heads and our hearts were in the race, I was happy about that. Now we have to work on the physical maturity part, and that will come with time."

The two teams travel to Denver, Colo. on Sept. 21, for the Denver University Invitational.