Both Wyoming Cross Country Squads Finish Fourth at MWC Championships

Oct. 29, 2005


Final Men's 8K Results
Final Women's 6K Results
Download Free Acrobat Reader

University of Wyoming's Philemon Tanui earned All-Conference honors at the 2005 Mountain West Conference Championships in Fort Collins, Colo., on Saturday. Both Cowboys and Cowgirls finished off the day in fourth place as each team had some outstanding performances.

On the men's side, BYU took home the team title with 27 points ahead of Colorado State (62) and Air Force (73). The Cowboys' 108 points finished them in fourth with New Mexico (119) and TCU (140) rounding out the rest of the field.

The Cowboys' fourth place finish was a big improvement from last year when they finished sixth.

Needing to finish in the top-14 to earn All-MWC, Tanui managed to just make it as he finished in 14th place with a time of 25:10. Next for the Pokes in 19th place was freshman Shadrack Too with a personal best time of 25:26, on the 8,000-meter course. Right behind him was senior Brian Knight's 20th place time of 25:31, just ahead of Ragan Driver's personal best time of 25:32 in 21st place. The last scoring finsher for the Pokes was freshman Brett Schuler in 38th place with a time of 26:33. Close behind him were both junior Nick Cramer (26:36) and sophomore Michael Huntington (26:43) in 39th and 40th positions. Completing the Cowboy field was freshman Eric Love in 46th place and a time of 28:03.

"I was really impressed with our second, third, and fourth place runners who ran very well to keep us in the mix," said UW head cross country coach Randy Cole. "It was also nice to see Philemon earn All-MWC in his first conference championship."

BYU also managed to come away with the team championship on the women's side with 23 points, finishing ahead of New Mexico (74) and Colorado State (75). The Cowgirls finished with 121 points, followed by San Diego State (134), Air Force (138), Utah (189), TCU (192) and UNLV (274).

Leading the way for the Cowgirls was junior Michelle Kvernmo. The junior just missed All-MWC honors with her 16th place finish and a time of 21:51. Right on her heels in 17th position was sophomore Gretchen Fagley with a time of 21:52. Stepping up for the UW women was sophomore Nikki Peterson with a personal best time of 22:14 on the 6,000-meter course. Her time put her in 24th place. Following Peterson was senior Tanice Barnett in 35th place and a time of 22:43. Rounding out the scoring field for the Cowgirls was freshman Lauren Furtney. She also recorded a personal best time of 22:47 and a 37th place finish. Other UW women competing were junior Maggie Diller (23:24) in 45th place, senior Emerald Reid (23:43) in 52nd place, and senior Amber Barlow (24:46) in 60th position.

"Our women I thought ran well from top to bottom," said Cole. "I was really happy with our top three runners for the way they stepped up to led us."

Both teams will take next weekend off from competition and prepare for the 2005 NCAA Mountain Regional Championships in Provo, Utah, on November 12. At this meet they will be vying for a trip to the NCAA National Championships.

"We are very excited for regionals and will look to continue to improve heading into that meet."

2005 Mountain West Conference Men's All-Conference Teams

First Team
Josh Rohatinsky, Jr, BYU
Nick Wilson, Sr., Air Force
Kip Kangogo, Sr., TCU
Chandler Goodwin, So., BYU
Dustin Bybee, So., BYU
Josh Glaab, Sr., Colorado State
Josh McAdams, Sr., BYU

Second Team
Rob Watson, Jr., Colorado State
Jeff Gosselin, Sr., Air Force
Tyrel Jensen, So., BYU
Cameron Clarke, Sr., New Mexico
Jacob Gustafsson, Fr., BYU
Paul Michel, Sr., Colorado State
Philemon Tanui, Jr., Wyoming

2005 Mountain West Conference Men's Award Winners
Runner of the Year
Josh Rohatinsky, BYU

Freshman of the Year
Jacob Gustafsson, BYU

Coach of the Year
Ed Eyestone, BYU

2005 Mountain West Conference Women's All-Conference Teams

First Team
Heidi Magill, So., BYU
Chelsea Smith-McKell, Sr., BYU
Timmie Murphy, Jr., New Mexico
Breanne Sandberg, Jr., BYU
Lital Azulay, So., San Diego State
Leslie Luna, So., New Mexico
Ann Heiner, Jr., BYU

Second Team
Nicole Graham, Sr., Air Force
Amy Fowler, Fr., BYU
Jacquelyne Gallegos, Sr., New Mexico
Danielle Korb, Jr., Colorado State
April Thomas, Sr., Colorado State
Ann Marie Thomas, Fr., BYU
Kristen Hemphill, Fr., Colorado State

2005 Mountain West Conference Women's Award Winners
Runner of the Year

Heidi Magill, BYU

Freshman of the YearAmy Fowler, BYU

Coach of the Year
Matt Henry, New Mexico