Derner Paces Cowboys to Historic Showing at MW Meet

Oct. 30, 2015

RENO, Nev. -

Men's Results   Get Acrobat Reader | Women's Results   Get Acrobat Reader

Senior Aaron Derner placed fourth individually to pace the University of Wyoming men's cross country team to a historic fourth in the team standings at Friday's 2015 Mountain West Championships at Montreux Golf Club. Derner's finish garnered him an All-MW First Team accolade, while fourth in the team race with 89 points tied the squad's best team finish and was four points away from UW's lowest total in MW history.

"I thought the men ran great today," UW head coach Bryan Berryhill said. "You mentioned highest team finish and close to lowest point total, but those three teams that finished ahead of us are all nationally ranked. So to finish fourth behind them I'll take that today. I thought Aaron Derner had a phenomenal race and behind that to see Dylan Morin, Amos Bowen and Jonah Henry pack up together. To see Ricky as a middle distance guy on a tough course finish as our fifth says a lot about how much he cares about this team. Overall, I thought they showed they take pride in this program."

Derner traversed the 8-kilometer course in 26:37 to pace the Cowboys for the third time this season. He was followed by fellow senior Amos Bowen in 27:30 for 18th, just four places away from all-conference accolades. Bowen was All-MW Second Team last season and was looking to become the first Cowboy to earn two-straight all-conference honors since 2010-11. Senior Dylan Morin finished one place and two seconds behind Bowen to edge out sophomore Jonah Henry who placed 20th in the same time as Morin. Redshirt freshman Ricky Faure rounded out UW's scorers in 28:01 for 28th.

No. 26 Air Force won the men's team title with 49 points, while No. 30 Colorado State was second at 53 and No. 16 Boise State third at 56. Wyoming, who last finished fourth at the 2010, edged out New Mexico, who received votes in the latest national poll.

On the women's side, sophomore Kerry White placed 16th in 23:50 on the 6-kilometer course to help the Cowgirls place fifth with 129 points. No. 1 New Mexico won the women's team race with 24 points, while No. 9 Boise State was second with 71 points. White was just two places away from a second-straight All-MW honor, while junior Megan Brunette finished in 23:59 for 19th. Sophomore Lauren Hamilton had her best race this season to place 22nd in 24:17, freshman Isabella Pape was 33rd in 24:56 and fellow freshman Kiah Leonard rounded out UW's scorers in 25:13 for 43rd.

"I'm really proud of our women," Berryhill said. "They fought hard on a tough course at elevation. I thought we had some sophomores and true freshmen that stepped up at 3-4-5 and I couldn't be more proud. We've had a lot adversity this season, so for them to come out and fight and get fifth place in a deep conference is something I'm proud of. That is something we can build on."

Wyoming continues its season at the 2015 NCAA Mountain Regional Championships on Nov. 13 in Albuquerque, N.M.

2015 MW Championships
Men's Team Results

1. No. 26 Air Force - 49
2. No. 30 Colorado State - 53
3. No. 16 Boise State - 56
4. Wyoming - 89
5. RV New Mexico - 120
6. San Jose State - 159
7. Fresno State - 205
8. Utah State - 220

Wyoming Men Individual Results
4. Aaron Derner -- 26:37
18. Amos Bowen -- 27:30
19. Dylan Morin -- 27:32
20. Jonah Henry -- 27:32
28. Ricky Faure -- 28:01
42. Alex Pawlak -- 28:29
44. Michael Downey -- 28:42
Jesse Gray - DNF

Women's Team Results
1. No. 1 New Mexico - 24
2. No. 9 Boise State - 71
3. Air Force - 98
4. Colorado State - 106
5. Wyoming - 129
6. Utah State - 144
7. Nevada -- 149
8. San Jose State - 218
9. San Diego State - 267
10. UNLV - 299
11. Fresno State - 312

Wyoming Women Individual Results
16. Kerry White -- 23:50
19. Megan Brunette -- 23:59
22. Lauren Hamilton -- 24:17
33. Isabella Pape -- 24:56
43. Kiah Leonard -- 25:13
53. Catherine Cloetta -- 25:38
55. Ali Walker -- 25:43
56. Cassidy Meade - 25:48
66. Regan VanDepol - 26:28

MW Men's Student-Athlete of the Year: Jerrell Mock, Colorado State
MW Men's Coach of the Year: Ryan Cole, Air Force
MW Men's Freshman of the Year: Elijah Armstrong, Boise State

MW Women's Student-Athlete of the Year: Allie Ostrander, Boise State
MW Women's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
MW Women's Freshman of the Year: Allie Ostrander, Boise State