Page, Zans and Kesy Collect MW Honors at Conference Meet

Nov. 1, 2013


Meet Results Get Acrobat Reader

Senior Garrett Zans and junior Holly Page earned All-Mountain West First Team honors and Michael Kesy was tabbed the MW Freshman of the Year to pace the University of Wyoming men's and women's cross country teams to fifth and sixth, respectively, at the 2013 Mountain West Championships on Friday at the Eisenhower Golf Club. Page became the first two-time All-MW First Team Cowgirl ever by finishing sixth, while Zans notched the highest individual finish by a Cowboy since 2008 by placing fifth.

Zans covered the 8-kilometer course in 24:27 for the ninth fastest time by a Cowboy since 1990, as his fifth-place finish was the highest since Mark Korir won the meet in 2008. He helped the Cowboys finish with 106 points, just five shy of No. 20 Boise State, as the top four men's teams at the meet were all ranked in the nation's top 30. Ninth-ranked New Mexico took home the team title with 32 points.

"It's bittersweet," UW head coach Bryan Berryhill said. "We were five points away from beating one of the top 20 teams in the nation, but in life and in sports you have to be opportunistic. We had an opportunity today and I wish we would have taken advantage of it. Garrett ran a great race, though, for fifth. He was side-by-side with All-Americans, which does a lot for his confidence. If he qualifies as an individual for the national meet, he'll have to beat some All-Americans and he proved today that he can do that."

Senior Mike Banks and sophomore Aaron Derner both crossed the line in 24:44 for 18th and 19th place, while sophomore Amos Bowen finished 29th in 25:14 and freshman Michael Kesy rounded out UW's scorers in 25:26 for 35th. Kesy, a walk-on from Cheyenne East High School, is the first Cowboy to earn MW Freshman of the Year since Zans in 2010.

Page made Wyoming history with her sixth-place finish in 21:49 on the 6-kilometer course, as she became the first Cowgirl ever to earn two All-MW First Team honors. Her fourth-place finish last season was the highest ever by a Cowgirl. Sophomore Audra DeStefano crossed the line in 22:34 for 24th and was followed by junior Devon England in 32nd at 22:51. Freshman Megan Brunette placed 44th in 23:10 and senior Emily Swigart rounded out UW's scorers in 46th at 23:16. The Cowgirls tallied 143 points for sixth, as the New Mexico women, also ranked ninth in the nation, won with 31 points.

"Holly got sixth in a women's race that had a lot of All-Americans in it," Berryhill said. "To see her run that well, just like she did last year, was really encouraging. It says a lot about her as a competitor to earn first team for a second-straight year. She is steady and focused and she'll be right back here next year to get her third."

Wyoming next travels to Ogden, Utah, for NCAA Mountain Regional on Friday, Nov. 15.

2013 MW Championships
Men's Team Results

1. No. 9 New Mexico - 32
2. No. 22 Colorado State - 51
3. No. 28 Air Force - 80
4. No. 20 Boise State - 101
5. Wyoming - 106
6. Utah State - 130
7. Fresno State - 222
8. San Jose State - 248

Wyoming Men Individual Results
5. Garrett Zans - 24:27
18. Mike Banks - 24:44
19. Aaron Derner - 24:44
29. Amos Bowen - 25:14
35. Michael Kesy - 25:26
40. Dylan Morin - 25:41
50. Mike Seas - 26:15
53. Michael Rotellini - 26:43

Women's Team Results
1. No. 9 New Mexico - 31
2. No. 25 Boise State - 60
3. Colorado State - 117
4. Air Force - 118
5. Utah State - 121
6. Wyoming - 143
7. Nevada - 162
8. Fresno State - 201
9. San Diego State - 274
10. San Jose State - 297
11. UNLV - 330

Wyoming Women Individual Results
6. Holly Page - 21:49
24. Audra DeStefano - 22:34
32. Devon England - 22:51
44. Megan Brunette - 23:10
46. Emily Swigart - 23:16
68. Cassidy Meade - 24:17
70. Ali Walker - 24:26
73. Mary Kozlowski - 24:35

MW Men's Student-Athlete of the Year: Isaiah Bragg, Air Force
MW Men's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
MW Men's Freshman of the Year: Michael Kesy, Wyoming

MW Women's Student-Athlete of the Year: Emma Bates, Boise State
MW Women's Coach of the Year: Joe Franklin, New Mexico
MW Freshman of the Year: Sanne Holland, Colorado State