Cowboys Fifth, Cowgirls Seventh At MWC Cross Country Championships

Oct. 29, 1999


  • Men's Championship Results

  • Women's Championship Results

  • Men's All-Conference

  • Women's All-Conference

    At the first-ever Mountain West Conference crosscountry championships, the Wyoming men placed fifth and the women wereseventh. The Cowboys were led by Greg Schabron, who finished ninthoverall with a time of 25:46.9 on the eight-kilometer course. With hisfinish, Schabron earned Second Team All-MWC honors. Schabron wasfollowed up by Chris Jons (26:27.4), Cody Brown (27:10.1), Todd Disney(27:11.3), Nathan McLeland (28:16.6) and Paul Rigsby (28:55.6). With135 team points, the Pokes were fifth in the six-team race. On thewomen's side, freshman Jennifer Vessa led the way with a 22nd-placefinish overall. Vessa ran the five-kilometer course in 19:04.2. AmyHill (19:21.0) and Stephanie Hanks (20:00.1) were next in line for theCowgirls. Lisa Jones (20:13.6), Tara LaMay (20:22.0), Darby Goodspeed(20:51.7), and Jola Wallowing Bull (21:24.0) rounded out the finish forWyoming. The Cowgirls finished with 159 points, just three behind Utahand 13 behind San Diego State.

    MWC Awards: Brigham Young University dominated the awards following theMWC cross country championships. For the women, Elizabeth Jackson wasnamed Athlete of the Year, Sarah Ellett was Freshman of the Year and theCoach of the Year was Patrick Shane, all of BYU. On the men's side BYUwon two awards as John Hedengren was Athlete of the Year and DavidDanley was Freshman of the Year. Air Force's Mark Stanforth was namedthe Coach of the Year.

    The following are quotes from University of Wyominghead cross country and track and field coach Larry Judge after theMountain West Conference Championships:

    "I was real impressed with ourfreshman Vessa and Hanks for the women. We were a little disappointedwith our team finish, but two of our top five runners were unable tocompete due to injury. It's unfortunate anytime that happens, but weneed to deal with setbacks sometimes. For the men, Greg Schabron hasreally come a long ways. He was our number five runner last year andhas really improved. Chris Jons has also stepped up, he didn't competeat last year's conference championships and was our number two runnerthis year. With the return of Joe Hall and Andy Shellenbarger nextyear, we can really challenge for the top."

    Mountain West Conference teams will return to the course at the Mountain Regionals in Fort Collins, Colo., Nov. 13. The meet will serve as a qualifier for the NCAA Championships, to be held Nov. 22 in Bloomington, Ind.