Memory of the 8 Memorial Run/Walk To be Held in Gillette, Wyo.

Aug. 20, 2012


Click here to pre-register

The Second Annual "Memory of the 8 Memorial Run/Walk" will be held in Gillette, Wyo., on Sunday, Sept. 16 to honor the memory of Wyoming cross country runners Morgan McLeland, Cody Brown, Kyle Johnson, Josh Jones, Justin Lambert-Belanger, Kevin Salverson, Nick Schabron and Shane Shatto, who died in a car accident on Sept. 16, 2001.

The Memorial Run/Walk is scheduled to begin on Sept. 16 immediately after registration for walkers and at 6:00 p.m. for runners. Registration on the day of the race will take place from 4:30-5:00 p.m. at the location for the race, which will be M&K Oil, 901 South 4J Road in Gillette, Wyo.

To pre-register for the event, individuals can open the link at the top of this story and click on the "SignUp" button.

There is no registration fee, but donations will be accepted. Donations will go to help cover costs of the event, as well as to fund runners' scholarships for college-bound athletes. Donations from last year's event resulted in two $500 scholarships being awarded at Campbell County High School scholarship night. Deb McLeland was present to hand out the Memory of the 8 scholarships.

The race will include an eight-mile, figure-8 loop for runners and a 5K walk.

This year, the City of Gillette has funded eight temporary road signs to be placed at each mile of the route. There will be a QR code on each sign enabling individuals to use their smart phone to link to a web page that will include a biography of each of the 8 Wyoming Cowboy runners.

There will be a barbecue and social following the event.