Memory of the 8 Run/Walk Set for Sept. 16 in Gillette

Sept. 10, 2014


Pre-Register Here

The fourth annual "Memory of the 8 Run/Walk" will take place on Tuesday, Sept. 16 in Gillette, Wyo. The event honors the memory of University of Wyoming cross country runners Morgan McLeland, Cody Brown, Kyle Johnson, Josh Jones, Justin Lambert-Belanger, Kevin Salverson, Nick Schabron and Shane Shatto, who died in a car crash on Sept. 16, 2001.

The 5-kilometer walk starts at 5 p.m. MT, while the 8-mile race on a figure-eight loop commences at 5:30 p.m. from M&K Oil at 901 South 4-J Road. Registration on race day starts at 4:30 p.m.

There is no registration fee, but donations will be accepted. Donations will go to help cover costs of the event, as well as to fund runners' scholarships for college-bound athletes. Shirts and hats will be available for purchase, while a barbeque will be hosted afterwards. Participants can pre-register and donate to the event at

The "Memory of the 8" comes on the heels of the "Always A Cowboy," which will be hosted on Saturday at Undine Park in Laramie by the UW cross country program. The Cowboy features a similar walk/run format that starts at 7:30 and 9 a.m., respectively.