2003 MWC Championships Moved to New Mexico

Oct. 29, 2003


Due to bad air quality caused by wildfires in the San Diego area, the Mountain West Conference has announced it will move its 2003 Cross Country Championships from San Diego to Albuquerque, N.M. The championships will be held on Saturday, Nov. 1, at the University of New Mexico North Golf Course, with the men's 8K race beginning at 10 a.m. MST and the women's 6K race at 11 a.m.

The men's race will feature No. 10 Colorado State, and four-time defending conference champion and No. 12 BYU. The race for the individual title should go down to the wire with six of last year's top-10 finishers returning. BYU's Kip Kangogo won the men's individual crown last year, Colorado State's Austin Vigil finished second, BYU's Matt Adams finished third, Colorado State's Bill Michel finished sixth, Air Force's Ben Payne finished eighth and Colorado State's Dylan Olchin and Josh Glaab finished ninth and 10th, respectively.

For the women, second-ranked BYU and No. 22 Colorado State will be featured. The Cougars, favorites to capture their fifth consecutive conference crown, brought home their second consecutive national championship in 2002. Individually, BYU returns last year's women's champion Kassi Andersen, along with top-10 finishers Michaela Mannova and Breanne Sandberg. Colorado State returns Jennifer Kintzley, Katie Yemm and Colleen Blair from last season's second-place squad.