Wyoming's Johnson Joins Korir at NCAA Championships

Nov. 12, 2007


Wyoming senior Gretchen Johnson joins junior Mark Korir as a national qualifier for the NCAA National Cross Country Championships held in Terre Haute, Indiana on Monday, November 12th.

On the women's side five teams will be competing from the Mountain Region. Colorado State and Northern Arizona were the automatic qualifiers from the regional meet, while Brigham Young, Colorado and Texas Tech were selected as at-large picks. The individual qualifiers from the Mountain Region were UW's Johnson, Weber State's Sariah Long and Morgan Haws, and Southern Utah's Sharla Platt.

"I am very happy for Gretchen (Johnson)," said UW head coach Randy Cole. "She has steadily improved as a runner for us in her four-year career and really deserves to represent the Cowgirls at this year's NCAA Championships."

As for the men, four teams from the Mountain Region will be racing in Terre Haute. Colorado and Texas-El Paso were the automatic qualifiers, while Northern Arizona and Brigham Young were picked as at-large teams. Korir joins New Mexico's Jeremy Johnson, Weber State's Seth Pilkington and Air Force's Matt Williams as individual qualifiers.

The NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships will be held on the LaVern Gibson Championship Course at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center, just outside of Terre Haute, Indiana. The course may be familiar to Korir and Johnson as they competed there earlier in the year at the Pre-Nationals Invite where Korir placed 20th and Johnson placed 67th.

The men's 10,000 meter race is set to start at 10:08 AM Mountain and the women's 6,000 meter race is at 10:58 AM Mountain. These championships will also be broadcast live on CSTV. This is a historic first for this meet to be shown on live TV.