Aztecs Down Cowboys In Laramie

March 1, 2003

Complete Box Score in PDF Format
Complete Play-by-Play in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Associated Press Writer

LARAMIE, Wyo. - Tony Bland scored 19 points and Steve Sir added 17 tolead San Diego State to an 86-73 win over Wyoming in a game marred by an uglyfinish.

With Wyoming trailing 79-68, Cowboys coach Steve McClain picked up hissecond technical foul and was ejected with 48.8 seconds remaining, triggeringhome fans to shower the court with debris.

After San Diego State coach Steve Fisher was nearly struck by a plasticwater bottle, another technical foul was called on the Wyoming team, triggeringmore items to be thrown.

Freshman Evan Burns added 12 points and Deandre Moore had 11 points and 10rebounds for San Diego State (15-10, 6-6 Mountain West), which beat Wyoming fora fourth straight time.

Donta Richardson led the Cowboys (19-7, 7-4) with 28 points while DavidAdams returned from an ankle injury to score 14.

San Diego State never trailed, outshooting Wyoming 52 percent to 36 percent.

The Aztecs, who led by 15 points twice in the first half, saw their marginshrink to 49-46 when Richardson hit a layup with 11:58 remaining.

Moore responded with a 3-pointer, igniting a 20-11 surge that ended withBurns' dunk at the 2:40 mark, leaving San Diego State up 69-57.

The Cowboys didn't get closer than five points during the final 5:52.

Uche Nsonwu-Amadi, who was averaging 13.3 points, was held to seven beforefouling out with 6:41 remaining and the Cowboys down 57-52. He had 11 rebounds.

San Diego State took a 42-29 halftime lead on 63-percent shooting including6-of-10 from the arc. Wyoming sank only 31 percent in the opening frame.

The Aztecs jumped to a 17-2 lead, allowed Wyoming to creep within 20-17,then closed the first half on a 17-8 roll. The latter surge was sparked by Sir,who sank a pair of 3-pointers, and Burns, who had a trey and a dunk.

The game featured a halftime ceremony honoring surviving members ofWyoming's 1943 NCAA championship team: Kenny Sailors, Lew Roney and JimmyReese.