Wyoming Loses Tourney Title Game to UTEP

Dec. 22, 2007

Box Score/Play-by-Play in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader
Wyoming Season Statistics in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

EL PASO, Texas (AP) -

Stefon Jackson scored 33 points, more than half of them at the free-throw line, as Texas-El Paso defeated Wyoming 79-73 Saturday night in the championship of the Sun Bowl Tournament.

Jackson hit 8-of-14 from the field and 17-of-21 from the free-throw line. Marvin Kilgore added 16 for the Miners (8-2). Only five other players scored for UTEP.

Brad Jones led a balanced Wyoming scoring attack with 16 points. Joseph Taylor scored 12, Brandon Ewing and Tyson Johnson each had 11 and Ryan Dermody scored 10 for Wyoming (5-5).

Jones was named to the All-Tournament team, along with UTEP's Jackon and Kilgore.

UTEP led 39-32 at the half. After Dermody hit a 3-pointer to pull Wyoming to within two at 39-37 with 18:46 left in the second half, the Miners pulled away steadily. Wyoming could get no closer than five points.

UTEP scored 31 points off Wyoming turnovers.