Cowboy Basketball Fans Encouraged to Vote for The Stampede in Naismith Student Section of the Year Award

Jan. 17, 2012

Laramie, Wyo. - The University of Wyoming has been nominated as one of the top college basketball student sections in the country and is asking for fan support to help win the prestigious title. Wyoming Cowboy fans will now have a say in determining the most deserving student section by voting for the Naismith Student Section of the Year Award.

By visiting, Wyoming fans can vote for the The Stampede as the top student section in college basketball. The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award, which is presented through a partnership of The Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), a division of IMG College, and the Atlanta Tipoff Club, administrators of the Naismith Awards, is dedicated to celebrating fans that love college hoops and provide support to their college basketball team with devotion and passion.

"We want to encourage all students, alumni, staff, and fans to show their support of the University of Wyoming by voting for the The Stampede as the greatest college basketball student section in the country," said Jennifer Kost, Asst. Athletic Director/Promotions & Marketing, University of Wyoming. "With colleges and universities all over the country vying for this top award, it is important that our fans visit the I Love College Hoops Facebook page, and vote for the Cowboys."

Nearly 80 schools representing 21 conferences are vying for the title. The Big East and Big Ten Conferences have the most schools participating followed closely by the ACC and Big 12. Participation also includes athletic conferences ranging from Conference USA and the Pac-12 to the Big Sky, the MAC, and Southland.

The Naismith Student Section of the Year Award will be determined through two rounds of public votes, combined with a scoring of finalists by the Naismith Awards Board of Selectors, which will review criteria such as the student section's name and attendance, as well as photos, video, and a write-up submitted by the nominating school. Complete details on the selection process can be found at

The winning student section gets bragging rights, while the winning school will receive $5,000 for its athletic association.