100 Years of Cowboy Basketball - Photo Galleries

Jan. 18, 2005


Following are photo galleries of the weekend's events. Pictures are courtesy UW Photo Service and Media Relations Student Assistant Jared Petrino.

Some 70 Cowboy basketballlettermen, including nine of the ten All-Century team members, returned tothe University of Wyoming campus thispast weekend for the celebration commemorating100 years of Wyoming basketball.

The celebration was in conjunction withthe Wyoming-Utah basketball game lastSaturday at the Arena-Auditorium.

The weekend tipped off Friday evening with awelcome reception at the RochelleAthletic Center's War Room.

Then on Saturday afternoon at 1 p.m., aceremony to unveil the 1943 NationalChampionship Trophy in its new, permanenthome took place in the Arena-Auditorium concourse at the Willett Westentrance near the UW Athletics TicketOffice. All Cowboy fans were invited to attend. Guest speakers included Athletics DirectorGary Barta, Mountain West CommissionerCraig Thompson, Cowboy Head CoachSteve McClain and Cowboy legend KennySailors, the leader of that title team.Sailors and teammate Jimmie Reese unveiledthe display.

Following the ceremony, a pre-gamehospitality was hosted by EnCana USA,and the Cowboy Joe Club at War MemorialFieldhouse. Cowboy basketball legendswere available for autographs at thatevent, which was open to all Wyoming fans.

At halftime of the Wyoming/Utahgame, all of the lettermen in attendanceas well as the All-Century Team wereintroduced. The team, as voted byCowboy fans, includes Marcus Bailey(2000-03), Charles Bradley (1978-81), FennisDembo (1985-88), Bill Garnett (1979-82),Eric Leckner (1985-88), Theo Ratliff (1992-95), Flynn Robinson (1963-65), KennySailors (1941-43, `46), Reginald Slater(1989-92) and Tony Windis (1957-59). Theonly member of the team who did not attend was Ratliff. He is a starter for theNBA's Portland Trailblazers, who playedat Minnesota on Saturday.