Jay Straight Named Second Team All-District 13 by the NABC

Feb. 18, 2005


Complete Team Listings in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

University of Wyoming senior point guard Jay Straight has been named Second Team All-District 13 by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). This is Straight's first NABC All-District honor of his career. The announcement came on Friday.

Straight was one of only 10 players in District 13 to earn the honor, and was one of only 150 men's basketball players from across the country to be selected. Among Mountain West Conference players, Straight was one of only seven men's basketball student-athletes named to the 2005 NABC All-District teams.

He was joined on the All-District 13 team by First Team selections Andrew Bogut of Utah, Danny Granger of New Mexico and Nick Welch of Air Force. The Second Team included MWC student-athletes Marc Jackson of Utah and Matt Nelson of Colorado State. Odartey Blankson of UNLV was the seventh MWC player selected. Blankson was named Second Team All-District 15.

Prior to Straight's selection, the last Wyoming men's basketball players to earn NABC All-District honors were: Uche Nsonwu-Amadi and Donta Richardson, who both earned Second Team All-District 13 for the 2002-03 season; and Josh Davis, who was a First Team All-District 13 selection both his junior and senior seasons of 2000-01 and 2001-02.

All 150 first and second team All-District honorees are now eligible for the NABC Division I All-America Team, which will be announced upon completion of the 2004-05 college basketball season.

See the complete listing of the 2005 NABC Division I All-District Teams attached to this release. Below are the two All-District Teams that included Mountain West Conference student-athletes.

2005 NABC Division I All-District 13

First Team

Andrew Bogut, UtahDanny Granger, New MexicoNick Fazekas, NevadaOmar Thomas, UTEPNick Welch, Air Force

Second Team

Jay Straight, WyomingMarc Jackson, UtahYemi Nicholson, DenverFiliberto Rivera, UTEPMatt Nelson, Colorado State

2005 NABC Division I All-District 15

First Team

Ike Diogu, Arizona StateDijon Thompson, UCLASalim Stoudamire, ArizonaChanning Frye, ArizonaGlenn McGowan, Pepperdine

Second Team

Jordan Farmar, UCLAHassan Adams, ArizonaBrandon Gay, San DiegoBrice Vounang, San DiegoOdartey Blankson, UNLV