Wyoming Cowboys Brandon Ewing and Brad Jones Earn All-MWC Honors

March 5, 2007


The Mountain West Conference announced its 2006-07 Men's Basketball All-Conference team on Monday, and two Wyoming Cowboys were honored in voting by the nine MWC head coaches and media members covering each of the member schools.

Wyoming sophomore guard Brandon Ewing earned Second Team All-Conference honors after leading the Mountain West Conference in scoring. Ewing was a Third Team selection as a freshman a year ago.

Cowboy junior guard Brad Jones was named to the MWC Third Team. It was the first all-conference honor for Jones. He was the only player in the MWC this season to rank among the Top Five individuals in scoring and assists.

This year's MWC First Team was made up of four seniors and one junior, led by MWC Player of the Year, senior Keena Young of BYU. Seniors Brandon Heath of San Diego State, Dan Nwaelele of Air Force and Wendell White of UNLV also earned First Team honors, as did junior Jason Smith of Colorado State.

The Second Team included three sophomores -- Ewing, Wink Adams of UNLV and Trent Plaisted of BYU. Also earning Second Team All-Conference recognition were seniors Mohamed Abukar of San Diego State and Jacob Burtschi of Air Force.

Joining Jones on the Third Team were: UNLV senior Kevin Kruger, New Mexico junior Tony Danridge, Utah sophomore Luke Nevill and BYU sophomore Lee Cummard.

BYU's Dave Rose won Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive year. Joel Anthony of UNLV was selected Defensive Player of the Year, and Jonathan Tavernari of BYU was named Freshman of the Year.

2006-07 All-Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Team
(Selected by media and head coaches)

First-Team All-Mountain West
Keena Young, Sr., F, BYU 6-6 215 Beaumont, Texas (South Plains College)
Brandon Heath, Sr., G, San Diego State 6-4 198 Los Angeles, Calif. (Westchester HS)
Jason Smith, Jr., F, Colorado State 7-0 240 Kersey, Colo. (Platte Valley HS)
Dan Nwaelele, Sr., F, Air Force 6-5 205 Bothell, Wash. (Inglemoor HS)
Wendell White, Sr., G, UNLV 6-6 215 Los Angeles, Calif. (Antelope Valley College)

Second-Team All-Mountain West
Brandon Ewing, So., G, Wyoming 6-2 190 Chicago, Ill. (Julian HS)
Jacob Burtschi, Sr., F, Air Force 6-6 225 Chickasha, Okla. (Putnam City HS)
Mohamed Abukar, Sr., F, San Diego State 6-10 216 San Diego, Calif. (University of Florida)
Trent Plaisted, So., C, BYU 6-11 245 San Antonio, Texas (Clark HS)
Wink Adams, So., G, UNLV 6-0 190 Houston, Texas (Gulf Shores Academy)

Third-Team All-Mountain West
Kevin Kruger, Sr., G, UNLV 6-2 185 Marietta, Ga. (Arizona State)
Luke Nevill, So., C, Utah 7-1 265 Perth, Australia (Kell HS-Ga.)
Brad Jones, Jr., G, Wyoming 6-0 170 Marked Tree, Ark. (Fort Smith CC)
Lee Cummard, So., G, BYU 6-6 175 Mesa, Ariz. (Mesa HS)
Tony Danridge, Jr., G, New Mexico 6-5 215 San Bernardino, Calif. (Cajon HS)

Honorable Mention
Tim Anderson, Jr., G, Air Force
Matt McCraw, Sr., G, Air Force
Austin Ainge, Sr., G, BYU
Cory Lewis, Sr., G, Colorado State
Darren Prentice, Jr., G, New Mexico
J.R. Giddens, Jr, G, New Mexico
Jerome Habel, Jr., F, San Diego State
Lorrenzo Wade, So., F, San Diego State
Brent Hackett, Jr, G, TCU
Kevin Langford, So., F, TCU
Johnnie Bryant, Jr., G, Utah

Player of the Year: Keena Young, BYU

Defensive Player of the Year: Joel Anthony, UNLV

Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Tavernari, BYU

Coach of the Year: Dave Rose, BYU