Wyoming's Justin Williams and Brandon Ewing Earn All-MWC Honors

March 6, 2006


Complete MWC All-Conference Release in PDF Format
Download Free Acrobat Reader

Justin Williams and Brandon Ewing, members of the University of Wyoming Basketball team, were named to the 2005-06 All-Mountain West Conference team on Monday. Williams, a senior, was named the MWC's Defensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, and earned Third Team All-MWC honors for the second straight year. Ewing, a freshman, joined Williams on the All-MWC Third Team.

Williams will enter the 2006 Mountain West Conference Tournament as the league leader in rebounding and blocked shots this season. He ranks 17th in the conference in scoring. Williams is averaging 11.5 points, 10.7 rebounds and 5.2 blocked shots per game. He holds Mountain West Conference records for career blocked shots (221), single-season blocked shots (140) and single-game blocked shots (11).

Ewing is Wyoming's leading scorer this season, averaging 12.8 points per game. In conference play, he has improved his scoring average to 15.9 points per game, which ranks him No. 5 in the MWC. Ewing set a new MWC freshman scoring record this season, scoring 255 points against conference opponents. The freshman also ranks No. 8 in assists in the MWC, No. 9 in steals and No. 6 in free-throw percentage. He averages 3.0 assists per game and 1.6 steals per game, while shooting 78.1 percent from the free-throw line.

San Diego State's Brandon Heath was named the Player of the Year. Trent Plaisted of BYU earned Freshman of the Year honors, and BYU head coach Dave Rose was named Coach of the Year.

Here are the 2005-06 All-MWC honorees.

Player of the Year:
Brandon Heath, Jr., Guard, San Diego State

Defensive Player of the Year:
Justin Williams, Sr., Forward, Wyoming

Freshman of the Year:
Trent Plaisted, Fr., Forward, BYU

Coach of the Year:
Dave Rose, BYU

First Team
Brandon Heath, Jr., Guard, San Diego State
Marcus Slaughter, Jr., Forward, San Diego State
Antoine Hood, Sr., Guard, Air Force
Mark Walters, Sr., Guard, New Mexico
Jason Smith, So., Forward, Colorado State

Second Team
Louis Amundson, Sr., Forward, UNLV
Trent Plaisted, Fr., Forward, BYU
Jacob Burtschi, Jr., Forward, Air Force
Mohamed Abukar, Jr., Forward, San Diego State
David Chiotti, Sr., Forward, New Mexico

Third Team
Justin Williams, Sr., Forward, Wyoming
Brandon Ewing, Fr., Guard, Wyoming
Nile Murry, Sr., Guard, TCU
Bryant Markson, Sr., Forward, Utah
Keena Young, Jr., Forward, BYU

Honorable Mention
Air Force: Dan Nwaelele, Jr., Guard
BYU: Brock Reichner, Sr., Guard; Rashaun Broadus, Jr., Guard
Colorado State: Michael Harrison, Jr., Forward
UNLV: Jo'Van Adams, Fr., Guard
Utah: Luke Nevill, Fr., Center; Johnnie Bryant, So., Guard