Wyoming's Brandon Ewing Earns All-District VIII Honors From the USBWA

March 6, 2007


University of Wyoming sophomore guard Brandon Ewing has received All-District VIII honors from the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA). The USBWA announced its 2007 Division I All-District Teams on Tuesday.

Ewing was named to the 10-man All-District VIII Team. The Chicago native currently ranks No. 30 in the nation in scoring, averaging 19.8 points per game. He also led the Mountain West Conference in scoring this season. Ewing was one of six Mountain West Conference players to earn All-District VIII honors. He and Luke Nevill of Utah were the only sophomores named to the District VIII squad. A seventh MWC player, Brandon Heath of San Diego State, was named All-District IX by the USBWA.

The USBWA teams are selected by member writers from across the country.

Below are the 2007 USBWA All-District squads that include players from the Mountain West Conference.

USBWA All-District VIII Team
Nick Fazekas, Nevada, Player of the Year
Brandon Ewing, Wyoming
Jacob Burtschi, Air Force
Luke Nevill, Utah
Jason Smith, Colorado State
Wendell White, UNLV
Keena Young, BYU
Jaycee Carroll, Utah State
Justin Hawkins, New Mexico State
David Patten, Weber State
Randy Rahe, Weber State, Coach of the Year

USBWA All-District IX Team
Aaron Afflalo, UCLA, Player of the Year
Brandon Heath, San Diego State
Aaron Brooks, Oregon
Bobby Brown, Cal State Fullerton
Derrick Low, Washington State
Rodney Stuckey, Eastern Washington
Nick Young, USC
Marcus Williams, Arizona
Darren Collison, UCLA
Sean Denison, Santa Clara
Tony Bennett, Washington State, Coach of the Year