Wyoming's Brandon Ewing Named First Team All-MWC and Afam Muojeke Named MWC Freshman of the Year

March 9, 2009


       The Mountain West Conference announced its 2008-09 Men's Basketball All-Conference team and awards on Monday.  Wyoming Cowboy senior Brandon Ewing was named First Team All-MWC while redshirt freshman Afam Muojeke was selected as the Freshman of the Year, in a vote by MWC head coaches and media members.  Senior Tyson Johnson and redshirt senior Sean Ogirri were also honored, as each were named Honorable Mention All-MWC.

For Ewing, a native of Chicago, Ill., this marks the first time in his career that he has been named to the MWC's First Team. As a freshman, he was a Third Team All-MWC selection and was then a second team selection as a sophomore and junior. He is the first player in MWC history to earn all-conference honors four times.

During conference games this season, Ewing led the MWC in both scoring and assists, averaging 18.6 points and 5.06 assists a game. He currently leads the MWC in all games in each category, and is on pace to become the first player in league history to do so. He is also on track to become the first player to lead the league in scoring in three consecutive seasons, as he finished both his sophomore and junior years as the MWC's leading scorer.

Muojeke, a native of Jamaica, Queens, N.Y., was the MWC's leading scorer and rebounder among freshmen. During conference games, he averaged 12.4 points and 6.3 rebounds a game. In all games, he is the 11th leading scorer and 12th leading rebounder in the MWC, with respective averages of 14.0 points and 5.3 rebounds per game. Muojeke is the second Cowboy to earn MWC Freshman of the Year honors, as Jay Straight received the honor in 2001-02.

Johnson, who hails from Long Island, N.Y., and Ogirri, a Denver, Colo. native, were both named Honorable Mention All-MWC.

Johnson ranks among the MWC's best in six different statistical categories. On the season, he is the third leading rebounder and 13th leading scorer, averaging 7.6 rebounds and 13.5 rebounds a game. He also ranks among the league's top-10 in field goal percentage, free throw percentage, defensive rebounds and minutes played.

Ogirri is the best single-season three-point shooter in the history of the MWC, as he is the conference's record holder with 103 thus far this season. He ranks 10th in the nation and first in the MWC in three-pointers per game with 3.43. His three-point percentage of 42.4 ranks 21st in the nation and second in the MWC. He averaged 14.6 points per game in conference play, which ranked ninth in the league.

Utah's Luke Nevill was selected as both the MWC's Player and Defensive Player of the Year. TCU's Zvonko Buljan was the Newcomer of the Year, Utah's Shaun Green was the Sixth Man of the Year and New Mexico's Steve Alford was the Coach of the Year.

2008-09 All-Mountain West Conference Men's Basketball Team (Selected by media and head coaches)
First-Team All-Mountain West
Luke Nevill, Utah** Sr. C 7-2 265 Perth, Australia (Kell HS-Ga.)
Lee Cummard, BYU** Sr. G 6-7 190 Mesa, Ariz. (Mesa HS)
Jimmer Fredette, BYU So. G 6-2 195 Glen Falls, N.Y. (Glen Falls HS)
Tony Danridge, New Mexico Sr. G/F 6-5 215 San Bernardino, Calif. (Cojon HS)
Brandon Ewing, Wyoming*** Sr. G 6-2 190 Chicago, Ill. (Julian HS)
Second-Team All-Mountain West
Daniel Faris, New Mexico Sr. C 6-9 235 Albuquerque, N.M. (Eldorado HS)
Kyle Spain, San Diego State Sr. F 6-5 220 Newark, Calif. (Newark Memorial HS)
Lorrenzo Wade, San Diego State* Sr. F 6-6 225 Las Vegas, Nev. (Univ. of Louisville)
Kevin Langford, TCU* Sr. F 6-8 245 Fort Worth, Texas (Univ. of California)
Wink Adams, UNLV** Sr. G 6-0 200 Houston, Texas (Gulf Shores Academy)
Third-Team All-Mountain West
Jonathan Tavernari, BYU* Jr. G/F 6-6 215 Sao Bernardo, Brazil (Bishop Gorman HS)
Marcus Walker, Colorado State* Sr. G 6-0 175 Kansas City, Mo. (Indian Hills CC)
Richie Williams, San Diego State Sr. G 5-10 162 San Diego, Calif. (Steele Canyon HS)
René Rougeau, UNLV Sr. G 6-6 210 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. (Etiwanda HS)
Lawrence Borha, Utah Sr. G 6-3 205 Staten Island, N.Y. (Stonebridge Prep)
All-Defensive Team
Luke Nevill, Utah Sr. C 7-2 265 Perth, Australia (Kell HS-Ga.)
Jackson Emery, BYU So. G 6-3 185 Alpine, Utah (Lone Peak HS)
Richie Williams, San Diego State Sr. G 5-10 162 San Diego, Calif. (Steele Canyon HS)
René Rougeau, UNLV Sr. G 6-6 210 Rancho Cucamonga, Calif. (Etiwanda HS)
Lawrence Borha, Utah Sr. G 6-3 205 Staten Island, N.Y. (Stonebridge Prep)
Honorable Mention All-Mountain West
Andrew Henke, Sr., G, Air Force
Roman Martinez, Jr., F, New Mexico
Chad Toppert, Sr., G, New Mexico
Billy White, So., F, San Diego State
Zvonko Buljan, Jr., C, TCU
Carlon Brown, So., G, Utah
Luka Drca, Jr., G, Utah
Shaun Green, Sr., F, Utah
Tyler Kepkay, Sr., G, Utah
Tyson Johnson, Sr., F, Wyoming
Sean Ogirri, Sr., G, Wyoming
Player of the Year:
Luke Nevill, Utah
Defensive Player of the Year:
Luke Nevill, Utah
Newcomer of the Year:
Zvonko Buljan, TCU
Freshman of the Year:
Afam Muojeke, Wyoming
Sixth Man of the Year:
Shaun Green, Utah
Coach of the Year:
Steve Alford, New Mexico
*Indicates number of previous all-conference selections