UW's Washington Named to NABC All-District Team

March 14, 2012

Kansas City, Mo. -

2012 NABC All-District Teams Get Acrobat Reader

Wyoming's Leonard Washington has been named to the All-District 17 Second Team, the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced today. The award is voted on by member coaches of the NABC and this year a total of 240 student-athletes from 24 districts were honored.

A native of Lake Charles, La., Washington paces the Cowboys at 12.6 points and 6.9 rebounds per game, including double-doubles in three of UW's last four contests. The redshirt junior forward ranks in the top 10 of five Mountain West statistical categories, including leading the league in field goal percentage at 56.3 and blocks at 1.1 per game. He also ranks sixth in rebounds, fourth in defensive rebounds (5.3) and 10th in scoring.

Washington was named to the All-MW Second Team on March 5, and earned MW Player of the Week on Jan. 23 after posting a career-high 32 points and 14 rebounds against Colorado State.

Washington is the first Cowboy to earn the honor since Brandon Ewing was named to the Second Team in 2009.

NABC All-District 17 First Team
Mike Moser, UNLV
Jamaal Franklin, San Diego State
Drew Gordon, New Mexico
Kendall Williams, New Mexico
Chase Tapley, San Diego State

NABC All-District 17 Second Team
Anthony Marshall, UNLV
Leonard Washington, Wyoming
Hank Thorns, TCU
Wes Eikmeier, Colorado State
Dorian Green, Colorado State