Wyoming's Brandon Ewing Earns All-District VIII Honors From the USBWA

March 17, 2008


University of Wyoming junior guard Brandon Ewing has received All-District VIII honors from the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) for the second consecutive season. The USBWA announced its 2008 Division I All-District Teams this past week.

Ewing was one of 10 individuals named to the All-District VIII Team. The Chicago native was also named to the same 10-man team a year ago as a sophomore. District VIII encompasses schools from the states of Wyoming, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico and Utah.

He was one of five Mountain West Conference players to earn All-District VIII honors this season. New Mexico's J.R. Giddens was named the District VIII Player of the Year. UNLV's Lon Kruger was named District VIII Coach of the Year.

The USBWA teams are selected by member writers from across the country.

Earlier in March, Ewing was also named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 13 Second Team for the second consecutive season.

Below are the 2008 USBWA All-District squads that include players from the Mountain West Conference.

USBWA All-District VIII Team (States of: Wyoming, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah)

J.R. Giddens, New Mexico, Player of the Year
Brandon Ewing, Wyoming
Wink Adams, UNLV
Jaycee Carroll, Utah State
Lee Cummard, BYU
Justin Hawkins, New Mexico State
Marcelus Kemp, Nevada
Reggie Larry, Boise State
Trent Plaisted, BYU
Carlos Taylor, Montana State

Lon Kruger, UNLV, Coach of the Year