Rottinghaus Represents Cowboy Hoops on Academic All-Conference Team

June 27, 2001


The Mountain West Conference announced the 2001 Academic All-Conference team for men's basketball today. To be eligible for selection to the academic team, a student-athlete must have completed at least one academic term at the member institution, maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better and be a starter or significant contributor to the team.

Fifteen student-athletes earned MWC academic honors in 2000-01, including four repeat selections from the 1999-2000 squad. Utah had a league-high four student-athletes on this year's team, followed by BYU with three. Colorado State, New Mexico and San Diego State each had two members on the squad and UNLV and Wyoming each had one.

Following is a list of the 2001 Men's Basketball Academic All-Mountain West Conference selections grouped alphabetically by school (*notes repeat selection).

Name           School         Class   GPAMajor

*Nathan Cooper BYU Senior 3.09PortugueseEric Nielsen BYU Junior 3.34Civil EngineeringTrent Whiting BYU Senior 3.20Management*David Fisher Colorado State Univ. Senior 3.37Fishery Biology*Brian Greene Colorado State Univ. Sophomore 3.31Business AdministrationBrian Smith Univ. of New Mexico Graduate 3.72Sports AdministrationAlvin Broussard Univ. of New Mexico Freshman 3.20UndeclaredKarlo Kovacic San Diego State Univ. Junior 3.93International BusinessChristopher Walton San Diego State Univ. Freshman 3.08BusinessDanny Brotherson UNLV Senior 3.19CommunicationsLance Allred Univ. of Utah Freshman 3.35HistoryChris Burgess Univ. of Utah Junior 3.00CommunicationTrace Caton Univ. of Utah Sophomore 3.80Spanish*Michael Puzey Univ. of Utah Sophomore 3.57Pre-Physical Therapy David Rottinghaus Univ. of Wyoming Freshman 3.15Business(*notes repeat selection)