Cowboy Basketball to Host Alumni Game on Saturday, Sept. 27

Sept. 18, 2008


Some of the greatest players in Cowboy basketball history will return to their old stomping grounds next Saturday, Sept. 27 for an alumni basketball game. The game will be held in the Arena-Auditorium and will be free to the public.

The game, which was organized by Cowboy Hall of Fame basketball player Reggie Slater, will be held after the Cowboy football game with Bowling Green. The evening will begin with a three point shooting contest at 6:30 p.m. and the game itself is scheduled to tip-off after that at around 7 p.m. There will be an autograph session following the game and the players will also have a tent at Pepsi's Tailgate Park prior to the football game.

"I have always loved the University of Wyoming and have kept up with everyone in Laramie over the years," said Slater. "I try to come back to Laramie every year and be a positive influence on the current guys. While doing this, I have been fortunate enough to bring some other former players with me. All of those trips sprung the idea of bringing a big group of guys into Laramie and playing a game."

Some of the most notable names in Cowboy basketball history will be back in Laramie for this event including seven Wyoming Hall of Fame inductees and one Hall of Fame coach. Those Hall of Fame athletes include Charles Bradley, Fennis Dembo, Bill Garnett, Eric Leckner, Theo Ratliff, Kenny Sailors and Reggie Slater along with Hall of Fame coach Jim Brandenburg.

"I have been working hand in hand with the athletics department and we have a great group of guys coming back," added Slater. "With every guy I have talked to over the past few months, the reflection in their voices shows complete love and affection for Wyoming. The university is a part of who we all are."

The game will feature 21 former Cowboys split onto a Brown and Gold team. The Brown team roster will consist of Clint Bean, Justin French, Bill Garnett, A.J. Johnson, Brett McFall, Reggie Slater, Kenny Smith, Bobby Traylor, Ugo Udezue, Oliver Wilson and Mark Wrapp. The Gold team roster will consist of Mike Brown, Brad Enzi, Rick Henry, Tim Hunt, Sly Johnson, Eric Leckner, Kerry McIntyre, Gregg Sawyer, Roman Totta and Rod Tyson. Jim Brandenburg will coach one team and Charles Bradley and Kenny Sailors will coach the other. Fennis Dembo, Sean Dent, Mike Hamilton, Theo Ratliff and Jon Sommers will also be in attendance but will not play in the game.

"I hope that this will be a fun experience for all of the fans," Slater added. "It will be fun for them to see all of these former players and find out what has happened to them. I also hope that this will be an exciting game atmosphere. It will be great to see everyone's competitive juices start flowing once the game tips off."

This alumni game is also raising funds for the Oliver Wilson Cancer Fund. Oliver was a tremendous part of the Cowboy basketball team during the late 1980's and will be a member of the Brown team. Any donations for Oliver and his family can be made through UniWyo Federal Credit Union. There is also a website where donations can be made at