Mountain West Conference Announces 2010-11 Preseason Men's Basketball Selections

Oct. 12, 2010

DENVER, Colo. -

  • 2010 MWC Basketball Media Day Central

    The Mountain West Conference released its men's basketball preseason media poll and all-Conference team today at the league's media day being held at The Mtn.-MountainWest Sports Network studios in Denver, Colo.

    The Wyoming Cowboys were picked to finish in eighth place.

    Conference media selected defending MWC Tournament champion San Diego State as the preseason favorite to win the Mountain West Conference men's basketball regular-season title in 2010-11. The Aztecs captured 21 of 30 first-place votes and 261 points for the top spot in the poll. BYU collected five first-place votes and 220 points to finish second, followed closely by New Mexico, who garnered three first-place votes and 214 points for third place. UNLV claimed the remaining first-place vote and 203 points to land in fourth. Colorado State received 132 points to finish fifth, followed by Utah (105 points) in sixth, TCU (92 points) in seventh, Wyoming (88 points) in eighth and Air Force (35 points) in ninth to round out the poll.

    San Diego State returns all five starters among nine letterwinners from a 2009-10 team that compiled a 25-9 overall record and tied for third in MWC regular-season play (11-5). The Aztecs captured their third MWC Tournament crown and received the league's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament, marking the program's fifth consecutive postseason appearance.

    BYU (30-6) turned in a second-place effort (13-3) in regular-season Conference action a year ago. The Cougars made their fourth straight postseason appearance, receiving an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament and advancing to the second round. BYU returns three starters and 10 letterwinners from a squad that posted a program-record 30 wins and closed out the 2009-10 season ranked 17th and 22nd in the final Associated Press and USA Today/ESPN Coaches' polls, respectively.

    New Mexico (30-5) brings back three starters and six letterwinners after capturing its second-straight Mountain West regular-season crown with a 14-2 mark against league opponents in 2009-10. The Lobos competed in the postseason for the third straight year, advancing to the second round of the NCAA Tournament as an at-large selection. New Mexico, who also finished the season with a program-record 30 wins, was ranked No. 8 and No. 16 in the final AP and Coaches' polls, respectively.

    Following its runner-up finish in the MWC Tournament, UNLV made its fourth straight postseason appearance with an at-large invitation to the NCAA Tournament. The Runnin' Rebels return all five starters among 11 letterwinners from a team that tied for third place (11-5) in Mountain West play and closed out the 2009-10 season with a 25-9 record overall.

    Four seniors and one sophomore representing four institutions were chosen for the 2010-11 preseason all-MWC team. BYU's Jimmer Fredette received Preseason MWC Player of the Year honors, while New Mexico's Drew Gordon garnered Preseason Newcomer of the Year accolades and BYU's Kyle Collinsworth collected Preseason Freshman of the Year kudos.

    The Mountain West will begin its 12th season of basketball competition on Friday, November 12.