Nance Named to Robertson Trophy Watch List

Nov. 25, 2014


USBWA Watch List

Wyoming's Larry Nance Jr. has been named to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's watch list for the Oscar Robertson Trophy. The senior forward is the only Mountain West player on the USBWA's list.

Nance has helped the Cowboys to a 4-0 start to the 2014-15 season with 12.3 points, 6.3 rebounds and 1.3 blocks per game to lead UW in each category. He has scored in double figures in three games, including a season-high 21 points against Northern Colorado on Nov. 16 and is the MW Preseason Player of the Year. He was named All-MW First Team and All-Defensive Team last season.

The player of the year award, along with the Wayman Tisdale Award for freshman of the year and Henry Iba Award for national coach of the year, will be announced in March and presented to the winners at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards gala at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City on April 14, 2015.

In mid-March, the USBWA will announce its All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for each award. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy and the Wayman Tisdale Award.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's second-oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. With more than 900 members worldwide, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.