Cowboy Basketball to Play in the 2002 Great Alaska Shootout

Nov. 30, 2001


The University of Alaska Anchorage has announced the tournament field for the 2002 Carrs/SafewayGreat Alaska Shootout, and among the eight teams will be the University of Wyoming Cowboys.

The tournament, which will be played Nov. 27-30, 2002, at Sullivan Arena in Anchorage, will feature: Wyoming, Alaska Anchorage,Cincinnati, Loyola Marymount, Michigan State, Northern Arizona, Oklahoma State and Villanova.

The 2002 Great Alaska Shootout will mark the 25th anniversary of the tournament. The first Great Alaska Shootout took place in the fallof 1978. Earlier this year, Marquette captured the 2001 Shootout title over Gonzaga.

Wyoming will be making its first appearance in the Great Alaska Shootout. Host Alaska Anchorage has appeared in all 24 previoustournaments, and has recorded upsets over such nationally-prominent programs as Missouri, Texas and Wake Forest. Cincinnati will bemaking its first return to Anchorage since upsetting Duke in the 1998 title game. Michigan State has also appeared in the Shootout before,winning it in 1989. The Spartans have appeared in the last three consecutive NCAA Final Fours, winning the National Championship in 2000.Oklahoma State will be making its second trip to the Great Alaska Shootout in 2002, and Villanova returns after finishing fourth in the 1985Shootout and third in 1994.

1Among some of the great teams that have won the Shootout in past seasons were North Carolina in 1980. The Tar Heels went on to playin the NCAA Championship game that season, the 1980-81 campaign, losing to Indiana.

The Louisville Cardinals captured the 1982 Great Alaska Shootout title, and advanced to the NCAA Final Four the same season.

Arizona won the '87 Shootout, and also advanced to the Final Four later that season.

Seton Hall nearly won the National Championship in 1989, losing by one point in overtime to Michigan. The Pirates had won the '88Shootout crown just months before.

Kentucky was the national runner-up to Arizona in 1997, after winning the '96 Great Alaska Shootout earlier that fall.

North Carolina, the Shootout Champion in '97, advanced to the Final Four later that season. Duke won the Shootoutin '98, before losing in the NCAA Championship game to Connecticut in the spring of 1999.

All total, four NCAA National Runners-up and three other NCAA Final Four teams have played in the Shootout the same season theymade their NCAA Tournament runs.

There have also been two NCAA Championship teams that played in the Shootout the fall following their national titles. Jim Valvano'sNorth Carolina State team of 1983, followed up its national title with an appearance in the Great Alaska Shootout in the fall of '83, andKentucky, the National Champions in 1996, traveled to Anchorage the following fall.

The list of great players who have earned Outstanding Player honors at the Great Alaska Shootout reads like a who's who of collegebasketball: Brad Daugherty of North Carolina in 1985, Sean Elliott of Arizona in 1987, Steve Smith of Michigan State in 1989, Glenn Robinson ofPurdue in 1993, Ray Allen of Connecticut in 1995, Ron Mercer of Kentucky in 1996 and Antawn Jamison of North Carolina in 1997.