Wyoming's Joe Glenn Among Four Named to AFCA Board of Trustees

Jan. 11, 2005


Harvard's Tim Murphy, Wyoming's Joe Glenn, Northern Illinois' Joe Novak and Auburn's Tommy Tuberville have been elected to the Board of Trustees of the American Football Coaches Association. The four were elected by members attending the 2005 AFCA Convention in Louisville, Ky.

They join a group of distinguished head coaches who guide the organization. The Board formulates policy and provides direction for the AFCA, which was founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Stagg, John Heisman and others. The AFCA has more than 10,000 members from all levels of the profession.

Returning members of the AFCA Board of Trustees include incoming president Scot Dapp of Moravian College; first vice-president Mel Tjeerdsma of Northwest Missouri State University; second vice-president Ken Sparks of Carson-Newman College and third vice-president Tyrone Willingham of the University of Washington.

Also serving on the Board in 2005: Larry Kehres, Mount Union College; Rob Ash, Drake University; Chuck Amato, North Carolina State University; Lloyd Carr, University of Michigan; Bill Snyder, Kansas State University; Mike Bellotti, University of Oregon and Rob Ianello, University of Notre Dame, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee. AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Murphy has guided the Crimson through one of the most successful periods in Harvard's long football history. His 2004 squad finished the season 10-0, the best season record for the Crimson since a 12-0 finish in 1901. He has led Harvard to three outright Ivy League crowns in the last eight seasons and has an 11-year record of 66-43 in Cambridge. In 18 seasons as a head coach at Maine, Cincinnati and Harvard, Murphy has a career record of 98-88-1.

Novak completed his ninth season at Northern Illinois in 2004, leading the Huskies to a 9-3 record, a share of the Mid-American Conference Western Division title and a victory in the Silicon Valley Bowl. The bowl appearance was the first in 21 years for the Huskies. He has a career record of 47-55 at the school. He earned AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honors in 2003 when the Huskies finished 10-2. NIU's 10 regular season wins that season set a school record.

In 20 seasons as a head coach, Glenn has won three national titles at two schools and taken the University of Wyoming to its first bowl win in 43 years. Glenn won back-to-back NCAA Division II championships at the University of Northern Colorado in 1996 and 1997 along with two AFCA Division II National Coach of the Year awards. In 2000, Glenn moved on to Montana where he led the Grizzlies to two Division I-AA championship game appearances and the 2001 Division I-AA national championship. In his second season at Wyoming in 2004, he led Wyoming to a 7-5 record and a victory in the Las Vegas Bowl. He has a career record of 169-72-1.

In six seasons at Auburn, Tuberville has guided the program back to the top of the league standings, leading the Tigers to a Southeastern Conference championship and four consecutive SEC Western Division titles. In 2004, Tuberville led Auburn to an undefeated season at 13-0, the SEC championship, a victory in the Nokia Sugar Bowl and a No. 2 ranking in the final USA Today/ESPN Coaches' Poll. His Auburn record stands at 51-24, while his overall record in 10 years as a head coach at Auburn and Mississippi is 76-44.

The AFCA was founded in 1922 and currently has more than 10,000 members around the world, ranging from the high school level to the professional ranks. According to its constitution, the AFCA was formed, in part, to "maintain the highest possible standards in football and the coaching profession" and to "provide a forum for the discussion and study of all matters pertaining to football and coaching."

For more information on the AFCA and its programs log on to the AFCA's website at www.afca.com.